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Amendment Log 
Any amendments, changes or updates to this document will be listed here. The amendment log 
will include what sections are amended and where the changes can be found. 

Enrollment & Eligibility Events Quick Reference Table 
Under Employer of Spouse/Domestic Partner Offers and Open Enrollment Period:  Add “Initial 
Benefit Enrollment Period” to the section per Qualifying Events section.  

Updates for compliance with IRS Section 125  
Enrollment and Eligibility Events Quick Reference Table 
Updates to “When Coverage Begins or Ends.”  

Change language pertaining to “notice” and “receipt of notice” to “notification.”  

Key Terms and Definitions 
Add definition to clarify plan rules: “Notification: When a member initiates a change to their 
benefits with PEBP (Open Enrollment, Qualifying Life Event, or HIPAA Special Enrollment) through 
their online PEBP account.  The date a notification is received may control the effective date of 
benefit changes.  A notification may be subject to requirements for supporting documentation 
(see the definition of “completed notification” for more information).” 

  

 

 

  

https://www.irs.gov/government-entities/federal-state-local-governments/faqs-for-government-entities-regarding-cafeteria-plans#:%7E:text=A%20section%20125%20plan%20is,not%20a%20section%20125%20plan.
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Welcome PEBP Participant 
Welcome to the State of Nevada Public Employees’ Benefits Program (PEBP). PEBP offers 
medical, dental, life insurance, flexible spending accounts, and other voluntary insurance 
benefits to eligible State and local government employees, retirees, and their eligible 
dependents.  

As a PEBP participant, you may select whichever benefit plan offered in your geographical area 
which best meets your needs, subject to specific eligibility and Plan enrollment requirements. 
These plans include the Consumer Driven Health Plan,  Exclusive Provider Organization (EPO)  
Plan, Low Deductible PPO Plan, Health Plan of Nevada HMO, and individual Medicare Advantage 
or Supplement plans through Via Benefits. You are also encouraged to research Plan provider 
access and quality of care in your service area.  

PEBP participants should examine this document, the Consumer Driven Health Plan, PPO Dental 
Plan, EPO Plan, and the Low Deductible PPO Plan MPD. Important information is also available in 
the Active Employee Health and Welfare Wrap Plan Document, Retiree Health and Welfare Wrap 
Plan Document, Section 125 Document, Health Reimbursement Summary Plan Description for 
Medicare retirees, Health Reimbursement Arrangement Summary Plan Document, and the 
Summary of Benefits and Coverage (SBC) for applicable plans. These documents are available at 
www.pebp.state.nv.us.  

The Master Plan Documents, Summary Plan Descriptions, and Summary of Benefits and Coverage 
provide a comprehensive description of the benefits, eligibility, and plan provisions. Relevant 
statutes and regulations are detailed in the Active Employee and Retiree Health and Welfare 
Wrap Plan Document. The Participant Contact Guide section contains telephone numbers, 
website addresses and other important vendor information associated with each plan.  

As a PEBP participant, it is important that you stay informed and keep abreast of your plan 
benefits. You are encouraged to read the various publications such as benefit guides, newsletters, 
plan documents, summary plan descriptions, and other materials. You are also encouraged to 
contact the PEBP office and any of the vendors listed in the Participant Contact Guide when you 
have questions about your benefits.  

 

Sincerely, 

Public Employees’ Benefits Program 

  

http://www.pebp.state.nv.us/
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Introduction 
This Master Plan Document describes the enrollment and eligibility provisions for state and non-
state employees and retirees. It also includes information regarding initial enrollment 
requirements, qualifying life status events and applicable notification timeframes, COBRA, 
military, FMLA and other types of leave.   

PEBP plans are governed by the State of Nevada.  

This document is intended to comply with the Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 287, and 
the Nevada Administrative Code 287 as amended and certain provisions of NRS 695G and NRS 
689B. 

The provisions and information described in this document are effective July 1, 2023. 

This document will help you understand eligibility and enrollment requirements. You should 
review it and show it to members of your family who are or will be covered by the Plan.  

It describes the process and timeframes for submitting new hire or retiree enrollment elections, 
qualifying life status changes, and supporting document requirements. Be sure to read the Key 
Terms and Definitions sections.  

All provisions of this document contain important information. If you have any questions about 
your coverage or your obligations under the terms of the Plan, please contact PEBP at the number 
listed in the Participant Contact Guide. The Participant Contact Guide provides you with contact 
information for the various components of the Public Employees’ Benefits Program. 

PEBP intends to maintain this program of benefits indefinitely, but reserves the right to 
terminate, suspend, discontinue, or amend its Plan offerings and benefits at any time and for any 
reason. As PEBP amends its Plan(s), you will be sent information explaining the changes. If those 
later notices describe a benefit or procedure that is different from what is described here, you 
should rely on the later information. Be sure to keep this document, along with notices of any 
Plan changes, in a safe and convenient place where you and your family can find and refer to 
them.  

Per NRS 287.0485 no officer, employee, or retiree of the State has any inherent right to benefits 
provided under the PEBP.  

Suggestions for Using this Document:  
This document provides important information about your benefits. We encourage you to pay 
attention to the following: 

• The Table of Contents provides you with an outline of the sections.  
• The Participant Contact Guide helps you become familiar with PEBP vendors and 

services they provide. 
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• The  Participant Rights section describes your rights and responsibilities as a 
participant of the  Plan. 

• The Key Terms and Definitions explains many technical, medical, and legal terms 
that appear in the text.  

• The Summary of Benefit Options provides a summary of the benefit options 
depending on the eligibility and status of the participant. 

• Enrollment Processes provides information for enrollment in benefit options. 
• Eligibility for Coverage provides information regarding program eligibility 

depending on status of the participant. 
• The Summary of Supporting Eligibility Documents provides information regarding 

what documents are required for enrollment purposes.  
• Qualifying Events for enrollment and disenrollment information depending on the 

event type of the participant and their family. 
• COBRA Continuation of Medical Coverage provides information on continuing health 

insurance coverage if PEBP coverage is terminated.  

Accessing Other Benefit Information: 
You will also want to access the following documents for information related to dental, life, 
flexible spending accounts, enrollment and eligibility, COBRA, third-party liability and 
subrogation, HIPAA and Privacy and Security and mandatory notices. These documents are 
available at www.pebp.state.nv.us.  

• State of Nevada PEBP Active Employee Health and Welfare Wrap Plan Document 
• State of Nevada PEBP Retiree Health and Welfare Wrap Plan Document  
• Consumer Driven Health Plan (CDHP) Master Plan Document 
• CDHP Summary of Benefits and Coverage for Individual and Family 
• PEBP Low Deductible PPO (LD-PPO) Master Plan Document  
• PEBP PPO Dental Plan and Summary of Benefits for Life Insurance Master Plan 

Document 
• EPO Plan Master Plan Document (EPO)  
• EPO Plan Summary of Benefits and Coverage for Individual and Family 
• Health Reimbursement Arrangement Summary Plan Document  
• Health Plan of Nevada Evidence of Coverage (EOC) and Summary of Benefits and 

Coverage  
• Flexible Spending Accounts (FSA) Summary Plan Description 
• Section 125 Health and Welfare Benefits Plan Document 
• Medicare Retiree Health Reimbursement Arrangement Summary Plan Description 

  

https://pebp.state.nv.us/plans/plan-benefits-documents/plan-documents/
https://pebp.state.nv.us/plans/plan-benefits-documents/plan-documents/
https://pebp.state.nv.us/plans/plan-benefits-documents/plan-documents/
https://pebp.state.nv.us/plans/plan-benefits-documents/plan-documents/
https://pebp.state.nv.us/plans/plan-benefits-documents/plan-documents/
https://pebp.state.nv.us/plans/plan-benefits-documents/plan-documents/
https://pebp.state.nv.us/plans/plan-benefits-documents/plan-documents/
https://pebp.state.nv.us/plans/plan-benefits-documents/plan-documents/
https://pebp.state.nv.us/plans/plan-benefits-documents/plan-documents/
https://pebp.state.nv.us/plans/plan-benefits-documents/plan-documents/
https://pebp.state.nv.us/plans/plan-benefits-documents/plan-documents/
https://pebp.state.nv.us/plans/plan-benefits-documents/plan-documents/
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Participant Rights 
You have the right to: 

 
• Receive the benefits for which you have coverage. 
• Be treated with respect and dignity. 
• Privacy of your personal health information, consistent with State and Federal 

laws, and the Plan’s policies. 
• Receive information about the Plan’s organization and services, the Plan’s 

network of health care professionals and providers and your rights and 
responsibilities. 

• Candidly discuss with your physicians and providers appropriate or medically 
necessary care for your condition, regardless of cost or benefit coverage. 

• Make recommendations regarding the organization’s participants’ rights. 
• Express, respectfully and professionally, any concerns you may have about PEBP 

or any benefit or coverage decisions the Plan (or the Plan’s designated 
administrator) makes. 

• Refuse treatment for any conditions, illness, or disease without jeopardizing 
benefits for future treatment, and be informed by your physician(s) of the medical 
consequences. 

Rescission of Coverage 
The Plan Administrator is prohibited from rescinding or retroactively terminating the coverage of 
a covered person under a benefit option that is a group health plan that is not excepted or 
exempt under Section 2712 of the PHSA, unless 30 days’ advance written notice is provided and 
such covered person commits an act, practice, or omission that constitutes fraud, or an 
intentional misrepresentation of a material fact including, but not limited to, false information 
relating to another person’s eligibility or status as a Dependent; provided however, that the 
foregoing prohibition shall not prohibit retroactive termination in the event: (i) a Participant fails 
to timely pay premiums towards the cost of coverage; or (ii) any other circumstance under which 
retroactive termination would not violate the PPACA.  The covered person may appeal against 
the rescission of coverage as a denial of a post-service claim under Article 7 in the Health and 
Welfare Wrap Document available at www.pebp.state.nv.us. In the event the Plan Administrator 
rescinds a Covered Person’s coverage on account of an act, practice, or omission that constitutes 
fraud, or an intentional misrepresentation of a material fact including, but not limited to, false 
information relating to another person's eligibility or status as a Dependent, such rescission shall 
not cause the individual to incur a “qualifying event” as provided under COBRA. 

  



Summary of Benefit Options                                                                                                                                                                   

Public Employees’ Benefits Program   Enrollment and Eligibility Plan Year 2024 
5 

Summary of Benefit Options 
 

 

  

 Full-Time Employees 

Active 
Legislator 

Retirees (non-Medicare) Survivors of Retirees 
(non-Medicare) 

State Non-
State NSHE State Non-

State 

Reinstated 
(State or 

Non-State) 
Spouse Dependent 

Child 

Medical Options 

Consumer Driven 
Health Plan (CDHP)                   

Exclusive Provider 
Organization Plan 
(EPO) 

                  

Low Deductible 
PPO Plan (LD PPO)                   

Health Plan of 
Nevada (HPN) 
HMO 

                  

Other Options 

Self-funded PPO 
Dental                   

Basic Life                 

 Retirees eligible for Medicare 
Parts A and B Survivors of Retirees 

Medicare 
Exchange for 
Medicare eligible 
retirees and their 
covered Medicare 
eligible 
dependents 

             
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Summary of Voluntary Product Options 

 Full-Time Employees 

Active 
Legislator 

Retirees  Survivors of Retirees  

State Non-
State NSHE State Non-

State 

Reinstated 
(State or 

Non-State) 
Spouse Dependent 

Child 

Summary of Voluntary Product Options 

VSP Voluntary 
Vision X X X X X X X   

The Standard 
Employee Critical 
Illness  

X X X X      

The Standard 
Spouse Critical 
Illness 

X X X X      

The Standard 
Hospital Indemnity X X X X      

The Standard 
Accident Insurance  X X X X      

The Standard 
Employee 
Voluntary Life and 
AD&D 

X X X X      

The Standard 
Spouse Voluntary 
Life 

X X X X      

The Standard Child 
Voluntary Life X X X X      

LegalEASE – Legal 
Services X X X X X X X   

ID Theft Protection 
– ID Watchdog X X X X X X X   

The Standard 
Retiree Voluntary 
Life  

   X X X X   
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The Standard 
Retiree Critical 
Illness 

   X X X X   

The Standard 
Retiree Accident 
Insurance 

   X X X X   

Auto, Home, 
Renters’ Insurance 
(Liberty Mutual) 

X X X X X X X   

Pet Insurance 
(Nationwide Pet 
Health) 

X X X X X X X   

The Standard 
Short-Term and 
Long-Term 
Disability 
Insurance 

X X X X      
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Enrollment Processes 
Enrollment 
Log on to your E-PEBP portal account at www.pebp.state.nv.us and click on the orange “Login” 
button, then follow the instructions to access your account.  

Most enrollment events may be completed online and will eliminate having to complete a paper 
enrollment form. If you are enrolling in the Consumer Driven Health Plan (CDHP) you may also 
establish your Health Savings Account (HSA) or Health Reimbursement Arrangement (HRA) 
online. 

Enrollment must include without limitation: 

• The name, address and social security number of the participant who is enrolling 
in the Plan; and 

• The name, social security number of any dependent the participant chooses to 
cover under the Plan and any required supporting documents. 

A participant who desires to enroll or add a dependent to the Plan must agree to the 
authorization section of the enrollment form by signing (submittal of the online enrollment is 
considered a digital signature) and dating the enrollment. 

Initial Enrollment 
Initial Enrollment for Active Employees 
Benefit eligibility is reported to PEBP by the employer. As a new benefits-eligible employee you 
must enroll or decline coverage online at www.pebp.state.nv.us  and upload any required 
supporting documents (if adding dependents) to your E-PEBP portal no later than the last day of 
the month your coverage is scheduled to become effective. This is the initial enrollment that is 
also considered a “new hire” event. 

Enrollment Requirement Example: 

Date of 
Hire/Contract 

Date 

Coverage 
Effective 

Date 

Date Enrollment 
Must Be 

Completed 

Date Supporting 
Documents Must 
be Submitted (if 

any) 

Default 
Coverage Date 

June 1st June 1st June 30th June 30th 

June 30th  

Coverage Effective 
June 1st  

June 2nd July 1st July 31st July 31st July 31st  

http://www.pebp.state.nv.us/
http://www.pebp.state.nv.us/
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Coverage 
Effective July 1st  

 

If a member’s initial enrollment occurs during Open Enrollment, the initial enrollment must be 
completed before Open Enrollment elections.  

Default Coverage – Failure to Enroll When Eligible 
PEBP requires eligible employees to enroll in a medical Plan or decline benefits no later than the 
last day of the month coverage is scheduled to become effective. If an employee fails to enroll or 
decline coverage as specified above, the employee will be automatically enrolled in the 
Consumer Driven Health Plan (CDHP) with a Health Reimbursement Arrangement (HRA), in the 
“employee-only” tier without coverage for dependents.  

Initial Enrollment for Retirees 
Retirees who wish to enroll in retiree coverage must complete the required paper enrollment 
documents and submit to the PEBP office within 60 days of the date of retirement. Required 
forms include the Retiree Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (RBECF) and the Years of Service 
Certification Form (YOSCF) and are available upon request by contacting the PEBP office. Eligible 
dependents must be enrolled at the same time as the retiree.  

Initial Enrollment for Survivors 
Eligible surviving dependent(s) who wish to be covered under PEBP must complete an enrollment 
election within 60 days of the date of death of the employee or retiree.  

Initial Enrollment for COBRA 
Qualified beneficiaries who wish to elect COBRA continuation coverage must submit their COBRA 
enrollment election within 60 days of the qualifying event date. Coverage will not be processed 
until payment is received.  

Open Enrollment 
Open enrollment is typically held May 1 - May 31 and any changes made during open enrollment 
become effective on July 1st, immediately following the open enrollment period.  

During this time active employees and retirees may: 

• Enroll in a medical Plan or change Plan options; or  
• Add or delete eligible dependents to/from medical coverage; or 
• Decline coverage.  
• Retirees covered under the Medicare Exchange may: 

o Opt-in/out of PEBP dental coverage (must be covered under a PEBP sponsored 
medical Plan) 

o Add or delete eligible dependents  
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During a positive enrollment period or if a medical Plan option is discontinued, the covered 
participant must submit a new plan election within the required timeframe as determined by 
PEBP. Failure to make a new enrollment election will cause the Participant and any covered 
dependents to be defaulted to the CDHP Plan (default Plan). 

Retiree Late Enrollment 
Per NRS 287.0475, a retired public officer or employee of the State, NSHE, a participating local 
government, or the surviving spouse thereof, may reinstate insurance during the open 
enrollment period if the retired public officer or employee did not have more than one period 
during which he or she was not covered under the PEBP Plan on or after October 1, 2011, or on 
or after the date of his or her retirement, whichever is later.  Meaning, the above individuals will 
only have one opportunity to rejoin a PEBP Plan following retirement.  

In accordance with NRS 287.0475, a retired public officer or employee or the surviving spouse 
thereof, may reinstate insurance through the Medicare Exchange, except life insurance, under 
the Public Employees’ Benefits Program, if the retired public officer or employee (1) did not have 
more than one period during which he or she was not covered by insurance under the Program 
on or after October 1, 2011; (2) retired from a nonparticipating local governmental agency; (3) 
was enrolled in the Program as a retiree on November 30, 2008; and (4) is enrolled in Medicare 
Parts A and B at the time of the request for reinstatement.  

To enroll as a late enrollee, contact PEBP between April 15th and May 15th to request the retiree 
late enrollment form. Approved enrollment for reinstated retirees will become effective July 1st. 
Reinstated retirees are not eligible for basic life insurance coverage through the PEBP. Requests 
for reinstatement must be completed through the submission of the required forms to the PEBP 
office not later than 31 days before the commencement of the plan year.  

HIPAA Special Enrollment Notice 
If you are declining medical benefits for yourself or your eligible dependents (including your 
eligible spouse or domestic partner) because of other health insurance or group health plan 
coverage, you may be able to enroll yourself and your eligible dependents in medical benefits 
provided under a PEBP-sponsored plan if you or your dependents lose eligibility for that other 
coverage (or if the employer stops contributing toward your or your dependents’ other 
coverage). However, you must request enrollment within 60 days after your or your dependents’ 
other coverage ends (or after the employer stops contributing toward the other coverage). 

In addition, if you have a new dependent because of marriage, birth, adoption, or placement for 
adoption, you may be able to enroll yourself and your dependents. However, you must request 
enrollment within 60 days after the marriage, birth, adoption, or placement for adoption.  

If you request a change due to a special enrollment event within the 60-day timeframe, coverage 
will be effective the date of birth, adoption, or placement for adoption. For other events, 
coverage may be effective the first day of the month following the receipt of a completed request 
for enrollment. A completed request for enrollment means required supporting documentation 
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such as a marriage certificate, birth certificate, proof of coverages, etc. For a list of supporting 
documents, see “Summary of Supporting Eligibility Documents,” below. 

HIPAA Special Enrollment Rights [26 CFR §1.125-4(b)] allow a “special enrollee” to change his or 
her existing enrollment after:  

• A loss of eligibility for group health coverage, health insurance coverage, Medicare 
Part A, CHIP, or Medicaid. 

• Becoming eligible for state premium assistance, Medicaid, or CHIP subsidies; and 
• Obtaining a new spouse or dependent by marriage, domestic partnership, legal 

guardianship, birth, adoption, or placement for adoption.  

Change in Status applies to marital status (marriage, divorce), number of dependents (includes 
birth, adoption, placement for adoption, registration/termination of domestic partnership, and 
death, employment status, dependent satisfies or ceases to satisfy eligibility requirements, 
change in residence [26 CFR §1.125-4(c)(1)(i)]. 

Special enrollment rights are subject to certain circumstances. If you are a State or non-State 
retiree, special enrollment does not apply to you, but it does apply to your dependents if you and 
the dependent are covered under the Plan. If you are a surviving spouse or surviving domestic 
partner not covered under a plan, special enrollment does not apply to you or your dependents.  

To request special enrollment or to obtain more information, contact PEBP at our information in 
the Participant guide, below, or email member services by selecting the contact us feature in your 
E-PEBP portal member account. 

Retroactive Premiums 
Deductions for elections and/or tier changes may take several pay cycles to be applied. This may 
result in “catch-up” for retroactive premiums. Some members may see larger than anticipated 
pay deductions. 



Eligibility for Coverage                                                                                                                                                                   

Public Employees’ Benefits Program   Enrollment and Eligibility Plan Year 2024 
12 

Eligibility for Coverage 
Summary of PEBP Eligibility and Enrollment Requirements 
This chapter outlines the enrollment processes and eligibility requirements for individuals eligible 
for coverage under the Public Employees’ Benefits Program (PEBP). Information regarding the 
enrollment process, coverage termination procedures, timeframes for completing enrollment 
and submitting supporting documents and premium payments are detailed in this document.  

• Any spouse or domestic partner that is eligible for coverage as both a primary 
participant and a dependent shall be enrolled as a primary participant. 

• A child that is eligible as both a primary participant and a dependent may enroll 
as a primary participant or continue coverage as a dependent of a PEBP participant 
until age 26 years. 

Eligibility Determinations  
Eligibility for PEBP coverage is determined in accordance with the NRS 287, NAC 287 and the 
provisions outlined in this document.  Individuals have the right to appeal an eligibility decision 
and request information as to why a determination was made; however, unless evidence 
supports that an eligibility determination fails to comply with the eligibility terms in this 
document, the original determination will not be reversed.  

Note: A retroactive rescission of coverage may be appealed except when the coverage 
termination is due to non-payment of premium.  

Eligibility for Active Employees  
The following full-time employees are eligible to participate in PEBP after satisfying their 
respective waiting period: 

• Employees of a State and participating non-State agency. 
• Employees of the Nevada Senate or Assembly. 
• NSHE employees under a letter of appointment with benefits. 
• NSHE classified employees. 
• NSHE professional employees under annual contract. 

Eligibility for Retirees 
Pursuant to NAC 287.135, retirees with 5 or more years of service credit (8 or more years of 
service credit for retired legislators; NRS 287.047) are eligible for PEBP coverage if the retiree’s 
last employer is a participating public agency and the retiree is receiving retirement benefit 
distributions from one or more of the following: 

• Public Employees’ Retirement System (PERS) 
• Legislators’ Retirement System (LRS) 
• Judges’ Retirement System (JRS) 
• Retirement Plan Alternative (RPA) for professional employees of the Nevada System of 

Higher Education  

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-287.html
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-287.html
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-287.html#NAC287Sec135
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-287.html#NRS287Sec047
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• A long-term disability plan of the public employer 

Eligibility for Dependents 
Your Spouse 
For the purposes of this Plan, the participant’s lawful spouse is eligible for coverage under the 
PEBP Plan. Spouses that are eligible for health coverage through their current employer group 
health plan are typically not eligible for coverage under the PEBP Plan. If your spouse’s employer 
group health plan satisfies PEBP’s definition of “Significantly Inferior Coverage” and you comply 
with the items listed in the Exception paragraph below, you may be able to enroll or continue 
your spouse’s coverage under PEBP. The definition of “Significantly Inferior Coverage” is provided 
in the definition section of this document.  

The Plan requires proof of the legal marital relationship and completion of the enrollment online 
declaring that the spouse is not eligible for an employer group health plan. A spouse is not an 
eligible dependent after divorce.  

Your Domestic Partner 
The participant’s domestic partner, as recognized by the laws of the State of Nevada, is eligible 
for coverage under the PEBP Plan. Domestic partners that are eligible for group health insurance 
through their current employer are typically not eligible for coverage under the PEBP Plan. If your 
domestic partner’s employer sponsored health coverage satisfies PEBP’s definition of 
“Significantly Inferior Coverage” and you comply with the items listed in the Exception paragraph 
listed below, you may be able to enroll or continue your domestic partners coverage under PEBP. 
The definition of “Significantly Inferior Coverage” is provided in the definition section of this 
document.  

The Plan requires a copy of the domestic partnership certification, and completion of the online 
enrollment or through the submission of a paper enrollment form declaring that the domestic 
partner is not eligible for an employer group health plan. By completing an enrollment election, 
the participant acknowledges their responsibility for any federal income tax consequences 
resulting from the enrollment of the domestic partner in the Plan. A domestic partner is not an 
eligible dependent after dissolution of the domestic partnership. Participants who have a legal 
union or domestic partnership validly formed in another jurisdiction which is substantially 
equivalent to a domestic partnership in Nevada, are not required to file with, or provide a 
certification from the Nevada Secretary of State. 

PEBP requires the participant to provide an official summary of the coverage details from the 
employer of their spouse/domestic partner outlining all health insurance coverage plans 
available to their employees. PEBP has the authority to determine if the spouse’s/domestic 
partner’s employer sponsored health plan meets the definition of “Significantly Inferior 
Coverage.”  
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Your Children/Stepchildren 
A participant’s children, stepchildren, or children of their domestic partner, under age 26 years, 
are eligible for coverage on: 

• The day the participant becomes eligible for coverage, or 
• The day the participant acquires the eligible dependent by birth, adoption, or 

placement for adoption, or 
• The first day of the month concurrent with or following the date of the 

participant’s marriage or certification of domestic partnership, or 
• The first day of the month concurrent with or following the loss of coverage 

through an employer group health plan. 

A dependent of two PEBP participants cannot be covered under more than one PEBP medical 
Plan at the same time.  

To enroll a dependent child(ren), the participant must submit an enrollment election online or 
paper form.  

In the case of a stepchild or domestic partner’s child, a certified marriage certificate or 
certification of domestic partnership will also be required. Participants who have a legal union or 
domestic partnership validly formed in another jurisdiction which is substantially equivalent to a 
domestic partnership in Nevada, are not required to file with, or provide a certification from the 
Nevada Secretary of State. 

Dependent children are terminated from coverage on: 

• The date of termination of the participant’s coverage. 
• The end of the month in which a dependent child under permanent legal 

guardianship turns age 19 years. 
• The end of the month in which the dependent child reaches age 26 unless proof 

of disabled dependent child status has been provided to and approved by PEBP. 
• For stepchildren, the end of the month for the date of dissolution of marriage or 

domestic partnership. 

A dependent child under the age of 26 years who is covered as a dependent on his or her parent’s 
PEBP Plan, and who later becomes eligible for their own PEBP coverage as a primary PEBP 
participant, may decline primary coverage as an active employee and retain coverage as a 
dependent on his or her parent’s plan; or the newly eligible employee (dependent) may enroll in 
their own coverage as a primary PEBP participant.   

A child who enrolls as a primary participant or who is defaulted as a primary participant will be 
removed as a dependent from their parent’s PEBP coverage.  

For more information, refer to the applicable sections in this document. 
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Your Newborn Child(ren) 
The newborn dependent child(ren) of a PEBP participant will automatically be covered under a 
PEBP medical Plan option from the date of birth to 31 days following the date of birth (referred 
to as the initial coverage period) per NRS 689B.033.  If the newborn is covered under more than 
one health insurance plan, the PEBP Plan reserves the right to coordinate benefits as stated in 
the Coordination of Benefits section of the PEBP Consumer Driven Health Plan, Low Deductible 
PPO Plan, and EPO Plan Master Plan Documents or HMO Evidence of Coverage Certificate (as 
applicable).  

When the member has Employee-Only coverage, the newborn will be covered under the 
member’s plan for the first 31 days (NRS 689B.033).  Individual deductible, copay, coinsurance, 
and out of pocket limitations, where applicable, will apply during the initial coverage period. 

To continue coverage beyond the initial coverage period, enrollment must be completed within 
60 days of the newborn’s date of birth. A copy of the child’s hospital birth confirmation will be 
required within the first 60 days to add the child, followed by a copy of the child’s certified birth 
certificate and social security number within 120 days following the date of birth. A newborn 
dependent child may not be enrolled for coverage unless the participant is also enrolled for 
coverage. If newborn enrollment is not completed within 60 days of the date of birth, coverage 
of the newborn will end 31 days after the child’s date of birth. If all supporting documentation 
for the newborn is not received within the required timeframe(s) the dependent newborn 
coverage will terminate at the end of the month the documents were due. Under no 
circumstances shall a newborn child have dual coverage under two PEBP plans. If the mother and 
father of the newborn are both primary participants under PEBP, the participant who elects to 
continue coverage for the newborn after the initial 31-day period shall be deemed to have 
covered the newborn since the date of birth.  

Your Adopted Dependent Children 
A newborn child who is adopted or placed for adoption may be covered from the date of birth, if 
the employee is enrolled in coverage and enrolls the newborn within 60 days of the date of the 
adoption or placement for adoption and submits any required supporting documents, (e.g., legal 
adoption or placement for adoption papers as certified by the public/private adoption agency, 
copy of the certified birth certificate, and the child’s social security number).  PEBP will also 
require a copy of the court order for adoption, signed by a judge within 6 months of the adoption 
date. 

A dependent child who is adopted or placed for adoption more than 60 days after the child’s date 
of birth will be covered from the 1st day of the same month that the child is adopted or placed 
for adoption, whichever is earlier. To add the dependent, PEBP will require the enrollment 
request within 60 days of the adoption or placement for adoption and any required supporting 
documents (e.g., legal adoption or placement for adoption papers as certified by the 
public/private adoption agency, copy of the certified birth certificate, and the child’s social 
security number). 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-689B.html#NRS689BSec033
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A child is placed for adoption on the date the participant first becomes legally obligated to 
provide full or partial support of the child. However, if a child is placed for adoption and the 
adoption does not become final, coverage of that child will terminate on the last day of the month 
that the participant no longer has a legal obligation to support the child. PEBP must be notified 
of the ineligibility for dependent coverage.  

Legal Guardianship 
Unmarried children under age 19 who are under a legal permanent guardianship may be enrolled 
as dependents. To continue coverage after age 19 (to age 26), the child must be unmarried and 
either reside with the participant or be enrolled as a full-time student at an accredited institution 
and satisfy the following conditions: 

• Is eligible to be claimed as a dependent on the federal income tax return of the 
participant or his spouse/domestic partner for the preceding calendar year; and 

• Dependent is a grandchild, brother, sister, stepbrother, step-sister, or descendent 
of such relative.  

• Children covered under legal guardianship are not eligible to continue benefits 
under the provision of a disabled dependent. 

The IRS allows the premiums for coverage of a person under age 19 (24 if a full-time student) to 
be paid on a pre-tax basis (excluded from gross income) if certain criteria are met. If the criteria 
are met, the coverage will be provided on a pre-tax basis. If they are not met, or the dependent 
is over age 24 as of the end of the calendar year, the subsidies associated with the coverage of 
the dependent are taxable and the payroll deductions must be done after income tax is 
calculated. If the subsidies are deemed taxable, they will be included as income on an employees’ 
Form W-2.  

Children under a temporary guardianship are not eligible for coverage as a dependent under the 
PEBP Plan.  

Disabled Dependent Child 
To cover a dependent child with a disability and who is 26 years old or older requires that the 
dependent has maintained continuous medical coverage with no break in service and the 
completion of the Certification of Disabled Dependent Child Form by the participant and the 
child’s physician.  To be eligible for coverage, the physician must diagnose the child as having a 
mental or physical impairment causing incapability of self-sustaining employment and depending 
chiefly on the participant and/or participant’s spouse for support and maintenance. Evidence of 
disability must be provided within 30 days after the child reaches age 26 years (NAC 
287.312(1)(d)).  The Plan will require proof of support and maintenance through the submission 
of a copy of the preceding year’s income tax return showing the child was or could have been 
claimed as a tax dependent in compliance with the IRS Code 152 (a) without regard to the gross 
income test. 

https://pebp.state.nv.us/resources/forms-publications/
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-287.html#NAC287Sec312
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-287.html#NAC287Sec312
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If the dependent is not deemed permanently disabled, PEBP will require proof of continuing 
disability once each year. PEBP reserves the right to have the child examined by a physician of 
PEBP’s choice and at the Plan’s expense to determine that the child meets the definition of a 
dependent child with a disability. 

Children covered under legal guardianship are not eligible to continue benefits under this 
provision. 

Grandchildren 
Grandchildren are not eligible for coverage unless they are adopted or qualify under permanent 
legal guardianship. Please refer to the Guardianship section of this document for more 
information. 

Foster children 
Foster children are not eligible for dependent coverage. 

Survivors 
Surviving dependents include a participant’s spouse or domestic partner and dependent children 
to age 26 years (or to age 19 years for child(ren) under permanent legal guardianship) who are 
covered under the participant’s medical Plan on the date of the participant’s death.  

Coverage for a surviving dependent(s) will end on the last day of the month of the participant’s 
death. Surviving dependent(s) who meet the eligibility provisions to re-enroll as a surviving 
dependent(s) have the option to continue coverage as a surviving dependent(s). To re-enroll as 
an eligible surviving dependent(s), the surviving dependent(s) must re-enroll by submitting an 
enrollment election within 60 days of the date of death of the employee or retiree.  

Surviving dependents are not eligible for a years of service premium subsidy or years of service 
Medicare Exchange HRA contribution or basic life insurance coverage. 

Survivors of Active Employees 
If an active employee dies with 10 or more years of service credit, the employee’s covered 
dependent(s) are eligible to continue current PEBP Plan coverage as surviving dependent(s). Any 
dependent not enrolled for coverage on the date of the participant’s death, is not eligible to 
enroll for coverage as a survivor. A surviving spouse may not enroll dependent children who were 
not covered on the date of the participant’s death. Surviving dependents include an employee’s 
covered spouse or domestic partner and child(ren) to age 26 years (or to age 19 years for a child 
under permanent legal guardianship) on the date of the employee’s death. If an active employee 
dies with less than 10 years of service credit, any covered dependents will be offered 36 months 
of COBRA coverage.  

A surviving dependent child shall pay the surviving/unsubsidized spouse rate if there is no 
surviving spouse or the surviving spouse declines coverage. 
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Survivors of Retirees 
Survivor dependent(s) of retirees who were covered on the date of the retiree’s death have the 
option either to continue or cancel PEBP coverage. Any dependent that is not enrolled at the 
time of the retiree’s death will not be eligible to enroll as a survivor. A surviving spouse may not 
enroll dependent children who were not covered on the date of the retiree’s death.  

Survivors of Police Officer or Firefighter Killed in the Line of Duty 
Pursuant to 287.0477, the surviving spouse and any surviving child of a police officer or firefighter 
who was employed by a participating public agency and who was killed in the line of duty may 
join or continue coverage under PEBP if the police officer or firefighter was eligible to participate 
on the date of the death of the police officer or firefighter.  If the surviving dependent elects to 
join or discontinue coverage under the PEBP pursuant to this section, the dependent or legal 
guardian of the dependent must notify the participating public agency that employed the police 
officer or firefighter in writing within 60 days after the date of death of the police officer or 
firefighter. 

The participating public agency that employed the police officer or firefighter shall pay the entire 
cost of the premiums or contributions to the Public Employees’ Benefits Program for the surviving 
dependent who meets the requirements. The State will pay the entire cost of the premiums or 
contributions to the PEBP for the surviving dependent(s) of a police officer or firefighter.  

A surviving spouse is eligible to receive coverage pursuant to this section for the duration of the 
life of the surviving spouse. A surviving child is eligible to receive coverage pursuant to this section 
until the child reaches age 26 years. (A surviving child under permanent guardianship of deceased 
police officer or firefighter killed in the line of duty is eligible for coverage to age 19 years.) 

Unsubsidized Dependents Covered under a PEBP Plan 
An unsubsidized dependent is an otherwise eligible spouse/domestic partner or dependent child 
who remains covered under PEBP while the primary Plan participant transitions medical coverage 
to the Medicare Exchange.  

Termination of a retiree’s coverage through the Medicare Exchange will result in the termination 
of any unsubsidized dependents. See Survivors of Retirees for exceptions to this provision.  

Unsubsidized dependents enrolled in the CDHP, EPO Plan, LD PPO, or HMO Plan can decline their 
coverage at any time (coverage ends the last day of the month of notification). 

Unsubsidized Dependents Covered under the Medicare Exchange 
An unsubsidized dependent is an otherwise eligible spouse/domestic partner who transitions to 
the Medicare Exchange and elects PEBP dental coverage, while the primary Plan participant 
remains covered under a PEBP Plan. See Survivors of Retirees for exceptions to this provision.  

 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-287.html#NRS287Sec0477
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Termination of a primary participant’s coverage will result in termination of the unsubsidized 
dependent.  

Unsubsidized dependents enrolled in the Medicare Exchange with PEBP dental coverage can 
decline their coverage at any time (coverage ends the last day of the month of notification). 

Retirees with Tricare for Life and Medicare Parts A and B 

Retirees who are otherwise eligible for the Health Reimbursement Arrangement (HRA) and who 
have Tricare for Life and Medicare Parts A and B are not required to enroll in a medical plan 
through the Medicare Exchange. To receive the monthly HRA contribution, PEBP will require a 
copy of the Tricare for Life military ID card (front and back) and a copy of the retiree’s Medicare 
Parts A and B card. The required documents must be submitted to PEBP within 60 days of the 
Medicare Parts A and B effective date, or within 60 days of the retirement date of the employee, 
whichever date is later. Retirees enrolled in Tricare for Life and Medicare Parts A and B and a 
medical plan through the Medicare Exchange may disenroll from the Medicare Exchange without 
experiencing a qualifying life status change or waiting for the Open Enrollment period. 

If Tricare and Medicare cards are not received within this timeframe, the only other time to apply 
for Tricare coverage is during the open enrollment period with an effective date of July 1.  

Dental Eligibility  
When an eligible retiree is covered through Medicare, dependent children are not eligible for 
PEBP Dental coverage. Only primary retiree, spouse, domestic partners, surviving spouse or 
domestic partners, and unsubsidized spouse or domestic partners are eligible for PEBP Dental 
coverage.  

PEBP Open Enrollment is the only opportunity (besides initial enrollment) to enroll or decline 
PEBP’s retiree dental-only coverage. If you would like to enroll or change your PEBP dental 
coverage, complete the Retiree Benefit and Enrollment Change Form and mail to PEBP or use the 
secure document upload form on our Contact Us page.  
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When Coverage Begins  
Active Employees  
New Hire, Reinstated, and Rehired Employees 
New Hire, Reinstated, and Rehired employees are eligible for coverage on the first day of the 
month concurrent with or following the date of hire.  

Retirees 
A retiree must enroll in a PEBP-sponsored medical Plan within 60 days of their retirement date 
as determined by the Public Employees’ Retirement System (PERS) or NSHE. 

Retiree Premium Subsidy or Exchange HRA Contribution for certain employees initially hired on 
or after January 1, 2010  
Employees working for a PEBP participating agency with an “initial date of hire” on or after 
January 1, 2010, but prior to January 1, 2012, and who subsequently retire with less than 15 years 
of service are eligible to elect retiree coverage but will not qualify for a subsidy or Exchange HRA 
contribution unless the retirement occurs under a long-term disability plan.  

Except for persons to whom NRS 287.043 applies, the initial date of hire is defined by NAC 
287.059 as the first date on which service credit is earned by a participant during the participant’s 
last period of continuous employment with a public employer, as determined by PERS or NSHE.  

Continuous employment as defined by NAC 287.021 includes a break in employment of less than 
1 year; and does not include a break in employment of 1 year or more. 

Retiree Years of Service Premium Subsidy or Exchange HRA Contribution for Employees Initially 
Hired with a PEBP Participating Agency on or after January 1, 2012  

• Employees of a State agency, judges, professional (contracted) employees of the 
Nevada System for Higher Education, legislators, and employees of participating 
local government entities with an initial date of hire on or after January 1, 2012, 
may participate in the program, but will not be eligible for a years of service 
premium subsidy or Medicare Exchange HRA contribution upon retirement.  

• Eligibility for a subsidy at retirement is based on the initial date of hire as defined 
by NAC 287.059 as the first date on which service credit is earned by a participant 
during the participant’s last period of continuous employment with a public 
employer (as determined by PERS or NSHE). Continuous employment (defined by 
NAC 287.021) includes a break in employment of less than 1 year; and does not 
include a break in employment of 1 year or more.  

• Pursuant to NRS 287.046 (8), this section does not apply to a person who was 
employed by the State on or before January 1, 2012, who has a break in service 
and returns to work for the State at the same or another participating State agency 
after that date, regardless of the length of the break in service, so long as the 
person did not withdraw their retirement from PERS and was eligible to 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-287.html#NRS287Sec043
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-287.html#NAC287Sec059
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-287.html#NAC287Sec059
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-287.html#NAC287Sec021
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-287.html#NAC287Sec059
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-287.html#NAC287Sec021
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-287.html#NRS287Sec046
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participate in the Public Employees’ Retirement System (PERS) or the retirement 
plan alternative for the Nevada System of Higher Education (NSHE) before or 
during the break in service.  

State Retirees 
Retirees whose last employer is a State agency, NSHE, PERS, the Legislature, Legislative Counsel 
Bureau or a State Board or Commission are considered State retirees. 

Non-State Retirees  
Retirees whose last employer is a non-State public entity are considered non-State retirees. Non-
State retirees are eligible to join PEBP only if their last employer is a participating local 
government entity (a local government that is contracted with PEBP to provide coverage to their 
active employees pursuant to NRS 287.025).  If the participating local government entity leaves 
the PEBP Plan, the entity’s retirees will also be dis-enrolled unless the retiree was covered under 
PEBP as a retiree continually since November 30, 2008. Retirees who were covered under PEBP 
as a retiree on November 30, 2008, and continually since then may remain covered under PEBP 
if they continue to pay their premiums. 

Dependents 
Benefit Coverage for any Eligible Dependent is effective on:  
• The day an employee or retiree becomes eligible and enrolled for medical coverage,  
• The day an employee or retiree acquires and enrolls eligible dependent by birth, adoption, 

placement for adoption, or 
• The first day of the month following a request for enrollment due to a qualifying event.  

Eligible Dependents may be Enrolled if: 
• Benefit coverage is in effect for the active employee or retiree on that day;  
• Any required supporting documents are received in the PEBP office:  

• within 60 days of the qualifying event date (for example: certified birth certificate, 
certified marriage certificate, etc.); or  

• Within 30 days following the last day of open enrollment; or 

Covered dependents must be enrolled in the same medical plan option as the employee or 
retiree except as described in the Coverage Options for Individuals with Medicare section. Eligible 
dependents include a spouse, domestic partner, and/or dependent child(ren) (as defined in the 
Definitions section of this document). Anyone who does not qualify as a covered dependent has 
no right to any benefits or services under this Plan. Any retiree covered through the Medicare 
Exchange will have the option to enroll in the CDHP, Low Deductible, or  EPO Plan, or HMO Plan 
when a non-Medicare eligible dependent is enrolled, subject to the rules described in the 
Coverage Options for Individuals with Medicare section and the rules of the Plan chosen through 
the Medicare Exchange. 

  

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-287.html#NRS287Sec025
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When Coverage Ends 
In Case of Death 
In cases of death, coverage ends on the date of death of the employee, retiree, surviving spouse, 
or dependent. Dependent coverage ends on the last day of the month of the primary insured 
death.  

Active Employees  
For an active employee, coverage ends on the last day of the month in which: 

• Employment ends.  
• Employment contract ends.  
• Employee is no longer eligible to participate in the Plan. 
• The last day of the Plan Year if the employee declines coverage during open 

enrollment. 
• Premium payment was last received (see Termination for Non-Payment); or 
• The Plan is discontinued.  

Retirees 
Retiree coverage ends on the last day of the month in which: 

• The retiree no longer meets the definition of a retiree.  
• PEBP received notification, generally in writing, of voluntary declination of 

coverage.  
• Premium payment was last received (see Termination for Non-Payment).  
• If a retiree is covered under a medical plan through the Medicare Exchange, 

coverage ends on the last day of the month preceding coverage through the 
Medicare Exchange; or 

• The Plan is discontinued. 

Dependents 
Dependent coverage ends on the last day of the month in which: 

• The active employee or retiree coverage ends.  
• The covered spouse, domestic partner, or dependent child(ren) no longer meet 

the definition of spouse, domestic partner, or dependent child(ren) as provided in 
the Definitions section of this document.  

• Premium payment was last received (see Termination for Non-Payment); 
• Dependent is covered under a medical plan through the Medicare Exchange; or  
• The Plan is discontinued. 

Surviving Spouse/Domestic Partner of a Retiree 
Coverage for a surviving spouse/domestic partner of a retiree ends on the last day of the month 
in which: 
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• PEBP received notification of voluntary declination of coverage;  
• Premium payment was last received (see Termination for Non-Payment);  
• If the surviving spouse/domestic partner is covered under a medical plan through 

the Medicare Exchange, coverage ends on the last day of the month preceding 
coverage through the Medicare Exchange; or  

• The Plan is discontinued. 

Unsubsidized Dependent 
Coverage for an unsubsidized dependent will end on the last day of the month in which: 

• The covered dependent no longer meets the definition of dependent as provided 
in the Definitions section of this document. 

• Premium payment for the primary plan participant or the covered dependent was 
last received;  

• PEBP received notification; or 
• The Plan is discontinued. 

Dependent Children of a Surviving Spouse or Domestic Partner of a Retiree 
Coverage for dependent children of a surviving spouse or domestic partner of a retiree ends on 
the last day of the month in which: 

• The covered dependent child(ren) no longer meets the definition of dependent 
child(ren) as provided in the Definitions section of this document.  

• Premium payment was last received (see Termination for Non-Payment); or  
• The Plan is discontinued. 

Notice to the Plan When a Dependent Ceases to be Eligible for Coverage  
An employee, spouse/domestic partner, or any dependent child(ren) must notify the Plan no 
later than 60 days after the date:  

• Of a divorce or dissolution of a domestic partnership. 
• On which a dependent child ceases to meet the definition of dependent as defined 

in the Definitions section of this document; or 
• On which a dependent child over age 26 years ceases to have a physical or mental 

impairment where the child no longer has a disability. 

Failure to give such a notification within 60 days will cause the spouse/domestic partner, and/or 
dependent child(ren) to lose their right to obtain COBRA Continuation Coverage or will cause the 
coverage of a dependent child with a disability to end when it otherwise might continue. For 
information regarding other notices that must be furnished to the Plan, see Qualifying Events. 

  



Qualified Medical Child Support Orders (QMCSO) or National Medical Support Notice (NMSN)                                                                                                                                                                   

Public Employees’ Benefits Program   Enrollment and Eligibility Plan Year 2024 
24 

Qualified Medical Child Support Orders (QMCSO) or National Medical 
Support Notice (NMSN) 
The Plan Administrator shall enroll for immediate coverage under this Plan any child who is the 
subject of a QMCSO/NMSN if such child is not already covered by the Plan as an eligible 
dependent, once the Plan Administrator has determined that such order meets the standards for 
qualification set forth below. 

Qualified Medical Child Support Order (QMCSO) or National Medical Support Notice (NMSN) shall 
mean a notice that contains the following information: 

• Name of the issuing authority. 
• Name and mailing address (if any) of an individual who is eligible for coverage as 

a primary participant under the Plan, whether they are enrolled or in declined 
coverage status. 

• Name and mailing address of one or more alternate recipients (i.e., the child or 
children of the participant or the name and address of a substituted official or 
agency that has been substituted for the mailing address of the alternate 
recipient(s)); and 

• Identity of an underlying child support order. 

According to federal law, a Qualified Medical Child Support Order (QMCSO) or National Medical 
Support Notice (NMSN) is a child support order of a court or state administrative agency that: 

• Designates one parent to pay for a child’s health plan coverage. 
• Indicates the name and last known address of the parent required to pay for the 

coverage and the name and mailing address of each child covered by the 
QMCSO/NMSN. 

• Contains a reasonable description of the type of coverage to be provided under 
the designated parent’s health care plan or the way such type of coverage is to be 
determined; and 

• States the period for which the QMCSO/NMSN applies. 

An order is not a QMCSO/NMSN if it requires the Plan to provide any type or form of benefit or 
any option that the Plan does not otherwise provide, or if it requires an employee who is not 
eligible for coverage by the Plan to provide coverage for a dependent child, except as required 
by a state’s Medicaid-related child support laws. For a state administrative agency order to be a 
QMCSO/NMSN, state statutory law must provide that such an order will have the force and effect 
of law, and the order must be issued through an administrative process established by state law. 

Upon receiving a QMCSO/NMSN, the Plan Administrator shall: 

• Notify the issuing authority with respect to the child whether coverage of the child 
is available under the terms of the Plan and, if so: 
o Whether the child is covered under the Plan; and 
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o Either the effective date of the coverage or, if necessary, any steps to be taken 
by the custodial parent or by the official of a state or political subdivision to 
effectuate the coverage; and 

• Provide to the custodial parent (or any state official serving in a substitute 
capacity) a description of the coverage available and any forms or documents 
necessary to effectuate such coverage. 

If a court or state administrative agency has issued an order with respect to health care coverage 
for any dependent child of an employee, PEBP will determine if that order is a QMCSO/NMSN as 
defined by federal law. That determination will be binding on the employee, the other parent, 
the child, and any other party acting on behalf of the child. PEBP will notify the parents and each 
child if an order is determined to be a QMCSO/NMSN and if the employee is covered by the Plan 
and advise them of the procedures to be followed to provide coverage of the dependent 
child(ren). 

If the employee is a Plan participant, the QMCSO/NMSN may require the Plan to provide 
coverage for the employee’s dependent child(ren). If the employee is covered by a medical plan 
option that will not cover the dependent child(ren) specified in the QMCSO/NMSN (for example, 
the child lives outside an  EPO Plan or HMO coverage area), the participant will be enrolled in the 
base plan option that allows compliance with the QMCSO/NMSN. Coverage under the new 
medical plan option begins on the first day of the month following receipt of the QMCSO/NMSN 
in the PEBP office and may not be reverted until the next open enrollment period.  

If the QMCSO/NMSN orders a covered employee to provide coverage for the dependent 
child(ren) named in the QMCSO/NMSN, PEBP will enroll the dependent child(ren) specified in the 
QMCSO/NMSN. If the employee is in declined coverage status, but is otherwise eligible for 
coverage, PEBP will enroll the employee and the dependent child(ren) specified in the 
QMCSO/NMSN in an appropriate medical plan option to cover the employee and the dependent 
child(ren). Coverage will become effective on the first day of the month concurrent with or 
following the date the QMCSO/NMSN is received by PEBP.  

Coverage of the dependent child(ren) named in the QMCSO/NMSN will be subject to all terms 
and provisions of the Plan, including limits on selection of provider and requirements for 
authorization of services, as permitted by applicable law. No coverage will be provided for any 
dependent child under a QMCSO/NMSN unless the employee (as applicable) and dependent 
contributions are paid, and all the Plan’s requirements for coverage of that dependent child have 
been satisfied. Coverage of a dependent child under a QMCSO/NMSN will terminate when 
coverage of the employee-parent terminates for any reason, including failure to pay any required 
contributions, subject to the dependent child’s right to elect COBRA continuation coverage if that 
right applies. Refer to the COBRA section for information on the dependent’s right to elect 
COBRA, if applicable. 
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If the dependent listed on the QMCSO/NMSN is covered under another PEBP Plan participant, 
the dependent will be dropped from the non-QMCSO/NMSN participant’s Plan and added to the 
QMCSO/NMSN participant’s Plan. 

If a QMCSO/NMSN is rescinded the participant has the option to continue coverage for the 
dependent(s) or remove the dependent(s). If the participant would like to remove the 
dependent(s), coverage will end at the end of the month of receipt of the order. The primary 
participant must continue coverage under the same medical Plan until the next open enrollment 
period.  

Any dispute over terms of a QMCSO/NMSN must be appealed directly to the issuing child support 
enforcement agency.  
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Restoration of Benefits by a Hearing Officer 
Restoration of health care coverage when included in the decision of a hearing officer will be 
implemented as follows: 

1. If health care coverage was provided to the employee and their eligible dependents under 
the CDHP, LD PPO Plan or  EPO Plan coverage will be restored retroactively to the date 
specified by the hearing officer. Any retroactive health insurance subsidy due from the agency 
will be paid to PEBP. Any retroactive health insurance premiums due from the employee will 
be paid by the employee to PEBP within 60 days of the hearing officer’s decision. The amount 
due to PEBP will be determined by PEBP. 
a. Restoration of coverage will comply with NRS 287, NAC 287 and this Master Plan 

Document. 
b. Upon restoration of coverage, PEBP will notify its third-party administrator, 

pharmacy benefits manager, life insurance vendor and any other applicable 
vendors of the restoration of coverage. 

c. If the employee and/or their eligible covered dependents incurred medical, 
dental, vision or prescription drug expenses, PEBP will assist the employee with 
obtaining reimbursement for the eligible health care expenses. 

 
2. If health care coverage was provided to the employee and their eligible dependents under 

the PEBP-sponsored Health Maintenance Organization (HMO), coverage will be restored 
retroactive to a date not to exceed six (6) months prior to PEBP’s receipt of the notice from 
the hearing officer. Any retroactive health insurance subsidy amounts due to PEBP by the 
employee’s agency will be paid to PEBP by the agency. Any retroactive health insurance 
premiums due to PEBP by the employee will be paid by the employee to PEBP within 60 days 
of the hearing officer’s decision. The amount due to PEBP will be determined by PEBP.  

3. If an employee chooses not to proceed with a retroactive effective date for health insurance 
coverage, coverage shall be reinstated on the first day of the month following the hearing 
officer’s decision. 

4. Coverage will be restored to the same coverage that was in place before the suspension of 
benefits. If a new Plan Year intervenes, the employee will be allowed to indicate the desired 
coverage retroactive to the beginning of the new Plan Year. 

5. Any premiums associated with voluntary insurance products are the employee’s 
responsibility.  
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PEBP and Medicare 
Premium Free Medicare Part A 
Retirees and their covered dependents who are eligible for premium free Medicare Part A are 
required to enroll in premium free Medicare Part A coverage.  

Most people aged 65 years or older who are citizens or permanent residents of the United States 
are eligible for premium free Medicare hospital insurance (Part A).  

You are eligible for premium-free Medicare Part A if:  

• You receive or are eligible to receive Social Security benefits; or  
• You receive or are eligible to receive railroad retirement benefits; or  
• You or your spouse (living or deceased, including divorced spouses to whom you were 

married at least 10 years) worked long enough in a job where Medicare taxes were paid. 

To determine your eligibility for premium-free Medicare Part A, contact the Social Security 
Administration (SSA) approximately three months before your 65th birthday.  

Premium Free Medicare Part A Enrollment Timeframe 
Retirees and/or their covered dependents who are eligible for premium free Medicare Part A are 
required to enroll in Part A coverage three months prior to their 65th birthday.  

Disabled retirees and/or their covered dependents who are eligible for Social Security disability 
insurance must enroll in premium free Medicare Part A and purchase Medicare Part B coverage.  

You must submit a copy of your Medicare card indicating your effective date with Part A and Part 
B to the PEBP office as follows:  

• For birthdays occurring on the first day of the month, your Medicare card must be 
received no later than the last day of the month the individual turns 65.  

• For birthdays NOT occurring on the first day of the month, your Medicare card 
must be received no later than the last day of the month, following the 65th 
birthday month.  

• For newly retiring employees, your Medicare card must be received within 60 days 
of the retirement coverage effective date.  

• Disabled retirees and/or their covered dependents who are entitled to Social 
Security disability benefits must enroll in premium-free Medicare Part A and 
purchase Medicare Part B coverage and submit a copy of their Medicare card to 
PEBP within 60 days of their Medicare effective date. 

If you are not eligible for Premium Free Medicare Part A  
If you are not eligible for premium free Medicare Part A, PEBP will require a copy of the Medicare 
benefit verification letter, sometimes referred to as a Medicare Award letter from Social Security. 
This letter will indicate that you are not eligible for premium free Medicare Part A. Retirees who 
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are not eligible for premium free Medicare Part A may remain on the PEBP CDHP, LD PPO,  EPO 
Plan or HMO Plan.  

You must submit a copy of the Medicare benefit verification letter/Medicare Award letter to the 
PEBP office as follows:  

• For birthdays occurring on the first day of the month, a copy of the benefit 
verification letter/Medicare Award letter must be received no later than the last 
day of the month the individual turns 65.  

• For birthdays NOT occurring on the first day of the month, a copy of the benefit 
verification letter/Medicare Award letter must be received no later than the last 
day of the month, following the 65th birthday month.  

• For newly retiring employees, a copy of the benefit verification letter/Medicare 
Award letter must be received within 60 days of the retirement coverage effective 
date.  

NOTE: Failure to provide PEBP with the required documentation will result in termination of 
coverage for the retiree and any covered dependents.  

Medicare Part B  
Retirees and dependents of retirees who are eligible for Medicare Part B are required to purchase 
and maintain Medicare Part B. Eligibility is determined by the Social Security Administration. 
Contact the Social Security Administration to inquire about purchasing Medicare Part B. Failure 
to provide proof of Medicare Part B enrollment (through the submission of the individual’s 
Medicare card) will result in termination of coverage. 

If you are a retiring active employee (or a dependent of a retiring active employee) eligible for 
Medicare, you will be required to purchase and maintain Medicare Part B.  

If you are a retiree or dependent of a retiree under age 65 years and are eligible for Medicare 
because of a disability, this Plan requires you to purchase Medicare Part B and provide a copy of 
your Medicare card to PEBP indicating that you have both Medicare Parts A and B. 

When a retiree or a retiree’s covered spouse is eligible for Medicare Part B, this Plan will always 
be secondary to Medicare Part B. If a retiree or spouse of a retiree is eligible for but not enrolled 
in Medicare Part B, this Plan will estimate Medicare’s Part B benefit. The Plan will assume that 
Medicare has paid 80% of Medicare Part B eligible expenses. The Plan will only consider the 
remaining 20% of Medicare Part B expenses. 

A copy of the Part B card must be submitted to the PEBP office as follows:  
• For birthdays occurring on the first day of the month, the Part B card must be 

received no later than the last day of the month when the individual turns 65 years 
of age.  
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• For birthdays NOT occurring on the first day of the month, the Part B card must 
be received no later than the last day of the month, following the 65th birthday 
month.  

• For retirees and covered dependents under age 65 who become eligible for 
Medicare due to a disability, proof of Medicare Part B enrollment must be 
received within 60 days of the Medicare Part A effective date.  

• For newly retiring employees eligible for Medicare at retirement, the Part B card 
must be received within 60 days of the retirement coverage effective date.  

• Disabled retirees and/or their covered dependents who are entitled to Social 
Security disability benefits must enroll in premium-free Medicare Part A and 
purchase Medicare Part B coverage and submit a copy within 60 days of Medicare 
effective date. 

NOTE:  For retirees, failure to provide proof of Medicare Part B coverage within 60 days of the 
coverage effective date or retirement date will result in termination of PEBP coverage. 

Retirees eligible for premium free Medicare Part A are required to purchase Medicare Part B, 
enroll in a medical plan, and maintain medical coverage through the Medicare Exchange to 
receive a years of service Health Reimbursement Arrangement (HRA) contribution (if applicable).  

 Exceptions: 
• Retirees who are eligible for premium-free Medicare Part A and who have 

purchased Medicare Part B coverage and who cover a non-Medicare dependent(s) 
may enroll in a:  
o PEBP Plan with the non-Medicare dependent(s) until covered dependents 

become Medicare eligible.  
• Retirees who permanently reside outside the United States may remain on a PEBP 

Plan. 

Medicare Retirees Covered through the Medicare Exchange 
Retirees who are eligible for premium-free Medicare Part A must enroll in a medical plan through 
the Medicare Exchange no later than the last day of the month, following the Medicare Part A 
and B effective date, or no later than the end of the month following the date of retirement, 
whichever occurs later.  

Contributions to a retiree’s Health Reimbursement Arrangement through the Medicare Exchange 
will become effective concurrent with the retiree’s medical plan effective date through the 
Medicare Exchange. 

Dependents are not eligible for a Health Reimbursement Arrangement contribution through the 
Medicare Exchange. 

Medicare Retirees Covered under the Medicare Exchange who have break in coverage  
Retirees who experience a break in medical coverage or who terminate medical coverage 
through the PEBP-sponsored Medicare Exchange will also terminate the years of service HRA 
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contribution, PEBP dental coverage, basic life insurance, and voluntary life insurance (if 
applicable). See the Retiree Late Enrollment section for re-enrollment rights.  

Retirees that elect PEBP dental and fail to pay dental premiums will be subject to forfeiture of 
PEBP dental benefits and retroactive termination of PEBP dental to the last day of the month the 
dental premium was received. 

Medicare Retirees Not Eligible for Premium Free Medicare Part A 
Retirees who are not eligible for premium-free Medicare Part A and who purchase Medicare Part 
B and/or cover one or more non-Medicare eligible dependents may remain on the PEBP CDHP, 
LD PPO,  EPO Plan, or HMO Plan.  

A retiree/survivor covered under the PEBP CDHP, LD PPO,  EPO Plan, or HMO that experiences a 
qualifying event that changes their eligibility status to participant only, must enroll in a medical 
plan through the Medicare Exchange.  

Medicare Part B Premium Credit 
Retirees who are covered under a PEBP Plan and who have Medicare Part B will receive a 
premium credit in an amount determined by PEBP. Dependents are not eligible for the Part B 
premium credit.  

The premium credit will apply concurrent with the Medicare Part B effective date or the first of 
the month concurrent with or following PEBP’s receipt of the retiree’s Medicare Part B card, 
whichever is later.  
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Retiree Years of Service Benefit  
Years of Service Eligibility 
Retirees eligible for a subsidy (NAC 287.485) must submit a Years of Service Certification Form 
with the appropriate enrollment documents. 

Retirees who retired prior to January 1, 1994, receive a premium subsidy or HRA contribution 
equal to the base amount or 15 years of service.  

Retirees who retired on or after January 1, 1994, receive a premium subsidy or HRA contribution 
based on the sum of the total years and months of service credit earned from all Nevada public 
employers, excluding purchased service (minimum 5 years; maximum 20 years). 

Employees with an initial date of hire on or after January 1, 2010, but prior to January 1, 2012, 
and who retire with less than 15 years of service are eligible for PEBP retiree coverage. These 
retirees will not qualify for a subsidy or a retiree HRA contribution unless they retire under a long-
term disability plan. 

Initial date of hire is defined by NAC 287.059 as “the first date on which service credit is earned 
by a participant during the participant’s last period of continuous employment with a public 
employer, as determined by the appropriate certifying agency.” Continuous employment, as 
defined by NAC 287.021, includes a break in employment of less than 1 year; and does not include 
a break in employment of 1 year or more. 

Employees with an initial date of hire on or after January 1, 2012, may continue to participate in 
the program but will not be eligible for any subsidy or Exchange HRA contribution upon 
retirement. The retiree will have to pay the entire premium or contribution for the coverage 
selected.  

Years of Service Premium Subsidy 
Retired public employees enrolled in the CDHP, LD PPO,  EPO Plan, or HMO Plan may qualify for 
a premium subsidy based on the date of hire, date of retirement, and total years of service credit 
earned with each Nevada public employee. For more information on retiree years of service 
premium subsidy, refer to the Retiree Enrollment Guide available at www.pebp.state.nv.us.  

Years of Service HRA Contribution for Medicare Retirees Enrolled in a Medical Plan through the 
Medicare Exchange 
Retired public employees enrolled in a medical plan through Medicare Exchange may qualify for 
an HRA contribution based on the date of hire, date of retirement, and total years of service 
credit earned with each Nevada public employer. For more information on retiree years of service 
HRA contribution, please refer to the years of service contribution table located on the PEBP 
website at www.pebp.state.nv.us.  

 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-287.html#NAC287Sec485
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-287.html#NAC287Sec059
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-287.html#NAC287Sec021
http://www.pebp.state.nv.us/
http://www.pebp.state.nv.us/
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Health Reimbursement Arrangement for Retirees Covered Through the Medicare Exchange 
The Medicare Exchange HRA accounts are employee-owned accounts established on behalf of 
eligible retirees covered in a medical plan through the Medicare Exchange.  

The Medicare Exchange HRA funds can be used to pay for qualified medical expenses as defined 
by the IRS including medical plan premiums. Funds placed in the Medicare Exchange HRA for a 
retiree’s use are based on the years of service of the retiree. Dependents and surviving 
dependents are not eligible to have an Exchange HRA. For more information see Publication 502 
at www.irs.gov. 

For more information regarding uses, contribution amounts, and other rules, see the Medicare 
Exchange HRA Summary Plan Document available on the PEBP website. 

Medicare Exchange HRA Contribution Eligibility 
To receive the PEBP HRA contribution, an eligible retiree must enroll in and maintain coverage 
through the PEBP-sponsored Medicare Exchange. If the eligible retiree does not enroll and 
maintain medical coverage as described above, the eligible retiree will NOT receive the PEBP HRA 
contribution amount and will lose their PEBP sponsored benefits entirely. For re-enrollment 
eligibility and information, please see the Retiree Late Enrollment section for re-enrollment 
rights. 

NOTE: This policy does not apply to eligible retirees who have health coverage under TRICARE for 
Life and Medicare. These individuals must submit a copy of their military ID card(s) to PEBP. PEBP 
will coordinate their enrollment with the HRA administrator. 
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Summary of Supporting Eligibility Documents 

Dependent 

Type 

Social 
Security 
Number 

Marriage 
Certificate 

Birth 
Certificate 

Hospital 
Birth 

Confirmation 

Adoption 
Decree 

Signed by a 
Judge 

Certificate of 
Registered  
Domestic 
Partner 

Legal 
Permanent 
Guardianship             

signed                    
by a judge 

Disabled 
Dependent 
Child aged 
26 Years or 

Older 
 

Newborn Child            

Child Under 
Age 26           

Adoption            

Permanent 
Legal 

Guardianship 
(child) 

           

Stepchild            

Domestic 
Partner’s                   

Child 
           

Domestic 
Partner’s            

Adopted Child 
            

Disabled Child            

Disabled 
Stepchild             

Domestic 
Partner’s            

Disabled Child 
            

Spouse           

Domestic 
Partner           

• A complete notification also means a completed event when the member submits a request 
for changes. To complete an event/notification the required supporting documentation must 
be provided to PEBP within the specified timeframe.  
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o Failure to provide the required documentation within the specified timeframe will 
result in an incomplete event/notification that will void the change request. 

• When adding a dependent, other dependents cannot be dropped for the same qualifying 
event.  

• Enrollment of a newly acquired spouse, domestic partner, and/or dependent child(ren) must 
occur no later than 60 days after the date of the qualifying event.  

• Employees in declined coverage status and who experience a change in number of 
dependents may opt to enroll in coverage mid-year if adding a newly acquired dependent. 

• All foreign documents must be translated to English. 
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Enrollment and Eligibility Events Quick Reference Table 

Enrollment and Eligibility Events Quick Reference Table 
Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 

Ends 
Allowable Changes Based 

on Event 

New Hire 

 

No later than the last day 
of the month in which 
coverage is scheduled to 
become effective 

 

Full-time employees are 
eligible for coverage on the 
first day of the month 
concurrent with or 
following the date of hire 

 

May add eligible 
dependent(s) in the family 
unit 

Required Supporting Documents 
Spouse/domestic partner 
 Social Security number of spouse or domestic partner 
 Copy of the certified marriage certificate or domestic partnership certificate 

Dependent child(ren):  
 Social Security number of child(ren)  
 Copy of child(ren)’s certified birth certificate(s) 

Child(ren) under legal guardianship to age 19 years: 
 Copy of legal guardianship papers (signed by a judge) 
 Copy of certified birth certificate(s) 
 Social Security number of child(ren) 
 If not the primary insured’s child, a copy of the certified marriage certificate or domestic partnership certificate recognized 

under Nevada law  

  Stepchild(ren) and child(ren) of a domestic partnership: 
 Copy of certified birth certificate(s)  
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Enrollment and Eligibility Events Quick Reference Table 
Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 

Ends 
Allowable Changes Based 

on Event 

 Social Security number of child(ren) 
 A copy of the certified marriage certificate or domestic partnership 

Newborn Child 

 

Within 60 days of the 
event date 

Newborn coverage is effective on the date of 
birth for the first 31 days, also known as the 
initial coverage period. 

Coverage for other dependent(s) is effective 
on the first day of the month concurrent 
with or following notification. 

May add the newborn child 
and other eligible 
dependent(s) in the family 
unit 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Copy of the hospital’s birth confirmation for the child (within 60 days of the date of birth)  
 If not the primary insured’s child, a copy of the certified marriage certificate or domestic partnership certificate (within 60 

days of the date of birth)  
 Child’s Social Security number (within 120 days of the date of birth) 
 Copy of child’s certified birth certificate (within 120 days of date the date of birth) 
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Enrollment and Eligibility Events Quick Reference Table 

Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 
Ends 

Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Adoption of a Child or 
Placement for Adoption of 
a Child 

 

Within 60 days of the event 
date 

Coverage effective on the date 
of adoption or placement for 
adoption for the first 31 days, 
also known as the initial 
coverage period. 

Coverage for a child adopted 
within 60 days of the child’s 
date of birth becomes effective 
on 1) the date of adoption, or 
2) placement for adoption.   

Coverage for other 
dependent(s) is effective on 
the first day of the month 
concurrent with or following 
notification 

May add the designated 
adopted child(ren) and other 
eligible dependent(s) in the 
family unit 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Copy of legal adoption papers or placement for adoption (signed by a judge)  
 Adoption papers (signed by a judge) within 60 days of issuance  
 Child’s Social Security number (within 120 days of the adoption) 
 A copy of the child’s certified birth certificate (within 120 days of the adoption) 
 If not the primary insured’s child, a copy of the certified marriage certificate or domestic partnership certificate 

recognized under Nevada law  
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Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 
Ends 

Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Permanent Guardianship of 
a Child to Age 19 

Within 60 days of the event 
date 

• Coverage effective on the 
first day of the month 
concurrent with or following 
notification. 

• Coverage is provided only up 
to age 19 years 

May add the child(ren) to age 
19 years and other eligible 
dependent(s) in the family 
unit 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Copy of legal guardianship papers (signed by a judge) 
 Child’s Social Security number  
 Copy of certified birth certificate 
 If not the primary insured’s child, a copy of the certified marriage certificate or domestic partnership certificate 

Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 
Ends 

Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Permanent Guardianship of 
Unmarried Child Aged 19 to 
Age 26 Currently Enrolled in 
a PEBP Plan 

Within 60 days of the event 
date 

• Coverage continues to age 
26 assuming child continues 
to meet eligibility 
requirements as set forth in 
Legal Guardianship Form 

• Coverage ends the last day 
of the month child turns age 
19 or last day of the month 
PEBP determines the child is 
no longer eligible 

Not applicable 

https://pebp.state.nv.us/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/Legal-Guardianship-Certification.pdf
https://pebp.state.nv.us/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/Legal-Guardianship-Certification.pdf
https://pebp.state.nv.us/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/Legal-Guardianship-Certification.pdf
https://pebp.state.nv.us/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/Legal-Guardianship-Certification.pdf
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Required Supporting Documents 

 Completion of the Legal Guardianship Certification Form; and  
 Any required supporting documents listed in the certification 

 

Enrollment and Eligibility Events Quick Reference Tables 

Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 
Ends 

Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Disabled Child (Age 26 or 
Older) 

Within 31 days of dependent 
child turning age 26 years 

• If already covered under 
PEBP, coverage will continue 

• If new to PEBP Plan, 
coverage becomes effective 
on the first day of the month 
concurrent with or following 
the notification. 

Not applicable 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Certification of Disabled Dependent Child Form (completed by primary participant and child’s physician) 
 Child’s Social Security number 
 If not the participant’s child, copy of the certified marriage certificate or domestic partnership certificate  
 Verification that the child has had continuous health insurance since the age of 26 years; and proof of support and 

maintenance through the submission of a copy of the participant’s preceding year’s income tax returns showing the child 
may be claimed as a tax dependent. The Plan will thereafter require proof of the child’s continuing incapacity and 
dependency not more than once a year beginning 2 years after the child attains age 26 per NRS 689B.035. 

Qualified Medical Child 
Support Order (QMCSO) or 

Within 60 days of issuance of 
QMCSO or Release of QMCSO 

• QMCSO: First of the month 
concurrent with or following  

• Must add dependent(s) as 
stated in the QMCSO 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-689b.html#NRS689BSec035
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National Medical Support 
Notice (NMSN) 

a determination that a 
QMCSO is qualified. 
  

• Release of QMCSO: 
Coverage terminates on the 
last day of the month 
concurrent with or following 
the date of determination 
that the release is qualified. 

• May add other eligible 
dependent(s) in the family 
unit 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Copy of QMCSO appropriately signed by issuing agency/county 

 

Enrollment and Eligibility Events Quick Reference Tables 

Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 
Ends 

Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Declination of coverage for an 
employee, retiree, spouse, or 
dependent who becomes 
eligible for and enrolls in 
Medicare Part A or B  

Within 60 days of Medicare 
effective date 

Coverage terminates on the 
last day of the month 
preceding the Medicare 
coverage effective date, or the 
last day of the month of 
notification, whichever is later. 

 Employee/Retiree may decline 
coverage 
 

 May delete spouse/domestic 
partner or dependent who 
enrolls in Medicare Part A or B. 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Copy of the Medicare card confirming the Medicare effective date. 
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Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 
Ends 

Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Declination of Coverage for 
employee, retiree spouse, or 
dependent who becomes 
eligible for and enrolled in 
CHIP  

Medicaid or Nevada Check Up 

Within 60 days of Medicaid 
effective date 

PEBP coverage terminates on 
the last day of the month 
preceding the first day of the 
month the participant or 
participant’s dependent gains 
eligibility or the last day of the 
month of notification, 
whichever is later. 

Employee, retiree, 
spouse/domestic partner or 
dependent may decline 
coverage due to enrollment in 
CHIP/Medicaid  

Required Supporting Documents 

 Documentation from Medicaid, CHIP or Nevada Check Up showing that the dependent’s eligibility for Medicaid or CHIP was 
approved and the coverage effective date 

Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 
Ends 

Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Special enrollment 
opportunity due to the loss of 
Medicare Part A, CHIP, 
Medicaid, or Nevada Check 
UP (applies to employees and 
their eligible dependents), 
does not apply to retirees)  

Within 60 days of Medicare 
Part A, Medicaid, CHIP, or 
Nevada Check Up termination 
date  

Coverage effective on the first 
day of the month following 
notification for loss of 
coverage from Medicaid 
and/or Nevada Check Up. 

Eligible employee and/or 
applicable dependents may 
enroll for coverage.  

Required Supporting Documents 

 Documentation from Medicaid, CHIP or Nevada Check Up showing that eligibility for Medicaid or CHIP was denied, the date 
it was denied or that Medicaid, CHIP or Nevada Check Up coverage ended or will end, and a copy of a marriage certificate, 
domestic partnership certification, or certified birth certificate(s) for each dependent child(ren) being added to the Plan. 
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Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 
Ends 

Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Dependent Gains Coverage 

Spouse/domestic partner or 
eligible dependent 
experiences a change of 
status resulting in a gain of 
eligibility and enrolls in 
another employer group 
health plan 

 

Within 60 days of the event 
date 

PEBP coverage terminates on 
the last day of the month 
preceding the first day of the 
month the participant or 
participant’s dependent gains 
eligibility or the last day of the 
month of notification, 
whichever is later. 

 

 

 

Must remove spouse or 
domestic partner if coverage is 
employer based; and may 
delete any dependent(s) that 
are being added to the 
spouse/domestic partner’s 
employer group health plan 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Documentation from the spouse's/domestic partner’s or dependent’s employer or from the other health plan listing the first 
and last name(s) of the individuals to be deleted from PEBP coverage, including their new plan’s coverage effective date.  

Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 
Ends 

Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Dependent Loses Coverage 

Spouse/domestic partner or 
eligible dependents 
experience a change of status 
resulting in a loss of eligibility 

Within 60 days of the event 
date 

Coverage effective on the first 
day of the month following 
notification. 

May add the spouse or 
domestic partner and all other 
eligible dependent(s) in the 
family unit who experienced a 
loss of coverage 
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from another employer group 
health plan 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Documentation from the spouse/domestic partner or dependent’s employer or from the other health plan listing the first 
and last name(s) of the individuals being added to your plan and the coverage termination date of that other plan. 

 Social Security number for all dependent(s) being added. 
 Copy of a certified marriage certificate or domestic partnership certificate recognized under Nevada law.  
 If adding dependent child(ren), a copy of the child(ren)’s certified birth certificates.  

 

Enrollment and Eligibility Events Quick Reference Tables 

Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 
Ends 

Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Marriage or the 
establishment of 

Domestic Partnership 

Enrollment election must be 
submitted within 60 days of 
the event date 

Coverage effective on the first 
day of the month following the 
date of marriage or domestic 
partnership registration, or the 
first day of the month 
following notification, 
whichever is later.  

May add spouse/domestic 
partner and/or other eligible 
dependent(s) in the family unit 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Copy of marriage certificate or registered domestic partnership certificate  
 Social Security Number for spouse or domestic partner and/or covered child(ren) 
 If adding dependent child(ren), copy of the child(ren)’s certified birth certificates; and a copy of the marriage or domestic 

partnership registration if not adding the spouse or domestic partner 



 

Public Employees’ Benefits Program   Enrollment and Eligibility Plan Year 2024 
45 

Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 
Ends 

Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Declination of Coverage due 
to Marriage or Establishment 
of Domestic Partnership (DP) 
and enrollment in 
spouse’s/DP’s Employer 
Group Health Plan 

Within 60 days of the date of 
marriage or establishment of 
domestic partnership 

Coverage for the primary 
participant and any covered 
dependents will terminate on 
the last day of the month of 
marriage or establishment of 
domestic partnership or the 
first day of the month 
following the date of 
notification, whichever is later.  

Primary participant may decline 
coverage 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Copy of certified marriage certificate or copy of domestic partnership certificate recognized under Nevada law; and 
 Documentation from the other employer or group health plan stating the effective date of the new coverage and the first and 

last name(s) of the newly covered individual(s).  
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Enrollment and Eligibility Events Quick Reference Tables 

Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 
Ends 

Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Employer of Spouse/ 
Domestic Partner Offers an 
Open Enrollment Period 

OR  

Initial Benefit Enrollment 
Period 

Within 60 days of the event 
date 

• Enrolling in PEBP 
coverage:  PEBP coverage 
becomes effective on the 
first day of the month 
following the end date of 
coverage under the other 
employer's health plan, or 
the first day of the month 
following notification to 
PEBP, whichever is later.  

• Declining PEBP coverage:  
PEBP coverage terminates 
on the last day of the 
month prior to the 
effective date of coverage 
under the other group 
health plan; or, the last 
day of the month 
following notification to 
PEBP coverage, whichever 
is later. 

• Participant and any covered 
dependents may decline 
PEBP coverage to newly 
enroll in the other employer’s 
coverage; or 

• Participant and eligible 
dependent in declined status 
with PEBP may re-enroll in 
PEBP coverage if the other 
employer coverage is 
terminated 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Proof of open enrollment from the employer 
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 Documentation from the other employer or group health plan stating the effective date of the new coverage and the first and 
last name(s) of the newly covered individual(s)  

Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or Ends Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Medicare Part B Premium 
Credit (Retirees covered 
under the CDHP, LD PPO,  EPO 
plan, or HMO plan only.) 

No later than the end of the 
month in which your Medicare 
Part B is effective 

 

The Part B premium credit will 
apply concurrent with the 
Medicare Part B effective date 
or the first day of the month 
concurrent with or following 
PEBP’s receipt of the retiree’s 
Medicare Part B card, 
whichever is later.  

Premium credit will only apply 
to primary retirees covered 
under the CDHP, LD PPO, EPO  
plan, or HMO plan 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Copy of Medicare Part B card; or  
 Copy of the Medicare Part B award letter 

 

Enrollment and Eligibility Events Quick Reference Tables 

Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 
Ends 

Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Initial Retirement Coverage 
for Eligible Retiring 
Employees 

Within 60 days of the 
employee’s date of retirement 

Retiree coverage is effective 
on the first day of the month 
concurrent with or following 
the date of retirement 

• May add dependent(s) 

• May select a new health plan 
option 
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If retiree is eligible for free 
Medicare Part A, must 
purchase Part B, and may be 
required to enroll for coverage 
through the Medicare Exchange 
as shown in the Initial 
Enrollment Section 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Enrollment election completed via paper form. 
 Years of Service Certificate Form 
 If age 65 or older, copy of Medicare Parts A and/or B card 
 If age 65 or older and ineligible for premium-free Medicare Part A, a copy of the Medicare Benefits Verification Letter and 

a copy of the Medicare B card. 

Retiree/ Dependent or 
Survivor’s entitlement to 
Medicare Parts A and/or B 

End of the month following 
the date the individual 
becomes eligible for Medicare 

Coverage under Medicare 
Exchange becomes effective 
within 60 days of Medicare 
effective date or retirement 
date, whichever is later 

• Must enroll in a Medicare 
Exchange plan if retiree and 
all covered dependents (if 
any) are eligible for free Part 
A; otherwise, coverage is 
terminated 

• If one family member is not 
eligible for free Part A, the 
family may remain on the 
CDHP, LD PPO,  EPO Plan, or 
HMO, or the individual with 
Part A may choose coverage 
through the Medicare 
Exchange 
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Required Supporting Documents 

 Copy of Medicare Parts A and B card, if eligible for free Part A, or 
 Copay of Part B card (if ineligible for free Medicare Part A); and a copy of the Medicare Benefit Verification Letter from the 

Social Security Administration (SSA); or  
 If covered under Tricare for Life, a copy of the military ID card and a copy of the Medicare A and B card 
 Enrollment election completed via online/paper form (only if Medicare entitlement includes Parts A and B and participant is 

changing health plans to the Medicare Exchange). 

 

Enrollment and Eligibility Events Quick Reference Tables 

Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or Ends Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Divorce, Annulment or 
Termination of 
Domestic Partnership* 

Within 60 days of the event 
date 

• Coverage terminates on the last day 
of the month from 1) notification or 
2) the divorce decree is signed by the 
judge or termination of domestic 
partnership is official, whichever is 
later. 

• If the divorce decree/ termination of 
domestic partnership is received 
more than 60 days after the divorce, 
coverage ends at the end of the first 
of the month following receipt of the 
divorce decree/termination of 
domestic partnership 

Must remove ex-spouse or ex-
domestic partner and all other 
ineligible dependent(s) 



 

Public Employees’ Benefits Program   Enrollment and Eligibility Plan Year 2024 
50 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Copy of the divorce/annulment decree signed by the judge (all pages) 
 Copy of the termination of domestic partnership filed with appropriate issuing agency 

 

Enrollment and Eligibility Events Quick Reference Tables 

Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 
Ends 

Allowable Changes Based on Event 

PEBP’s Open 
Enrollment Period 

Typically, May 1- May 31 of 
each year 

Coverage effective date is 
July 1 immediately 
following open enrollment 
period  

May add or delete dependents, change plan 
options, or decline coverage 

Required Supporting Documents 

 If adding a dependent, refer to the Summary of Supporting Eligibility Documents provided in this document 
 Required supporting documents are due by June 15 

Primary Participant 
Moves Outside the 
EPO Plan or HMO 
Plan Coverage Area 

Within 30 days after moving 
outside EPO Plan or HMO 
coverage area 

Coverage under the CDHP, 
LD PPO, EPO  Plan, or HMO 
plan will begin on the first 
day of the month 
concurrent with or 
following notification.     

Participants who move outside an EPO Plan 
or HMO coverage area must select another 
coverage option. 

Note: Moving outside the EPO Plan or HMO 
coverage area is not a qualifying event to 
add or delete dependents. 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Provide proof of address change, including, but not limited to, an updated driver’s license, USPS change of address, etc. 
 Call PEBP to update address; or 
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 Send a secure message through you ePEBP portal 

Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 
Ends 

Allowable Changes Based on Event 

Termination of Retiree 
Benefits 

Upon request from 
participant 

Written request by the 
retiree to decline all PEBP 
benefits effective on the 
first day of the month 
concurrent with or 
following notification. 

Coverage terminates for retiree and any 
covered dependents on the last day of the 
month request is received 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Must provide a written request to decline PEBP benefits.  

 

Enrollment and Eligibility Events Quick Reference Tables 

Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or 
Ends 

Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Survivor’s Coverage 

Surviving dependent must 
covered on as dependent on 
the primary participant’s plan 
on the date of death  

Within 60 days of the primary 
participant’s date of death 

Coverage for eligible 
survivor(s) is effective on the 
first day of the month 
following the primary 
participant’s date of death 

May qualify for survivor’s 
coverage if the dependent 
meets the survivor’s eligibility 
requirements as shown in the 
Initial Enrollment Section 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Copy of certified death certificate 
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 Submission of a completed Retiree Benefit Enrollment and Change Form. 

Employee or Retiree Death* Within 60 days of the event 
date 

• Participant coverage 
terminates on the date of 
death; and 

• Coverage for any covered 
dependent terminates on 
the last day of the month 
concurrent with the 
participant’s date of death 

Covered dependents may 
qualify for re-enrollment in 
survivor’s coverage if he/she 
meets the eligibility 
requirements as stated in this 
document 

Dependent Death* Within 60 days of the event 
date 

Coverage for the deceased 
dependent terminates on the 
date of death. 

Must remove the deceased 
dependent from coverage and 
any ineligible dependent(s) 
(e.g., children of domestic 
partner or stepchildren) 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Copy of certified death certificate 

*Late Notification of Death: Adjustments in premiums resulting from the death of a covered participant or dependent will be 
refunded if notification of death is received within 60 days of the participant’s or dependent’s date of death. Notification of 
death beyond the 60-day period will not be refunded. 
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Enrollment and Eligibility Events Quick Reference Tables 

Event Type Notification Period When Coverage Begins or Ends Allowable Changes Based on 
Event 

Survivor of Police/ 
Firefighter killed in 
the line of Duty 

Within 60 days of the police 
officer’s or firefighter’s date 
of death 

Coverage for eligible survivor(s) is 
effective on the first of the month 
following the police officer’s or 
firefighter’s date of death, or after 
notification, whichever is later. 

May qualify for survivor’s coverage 
if the dependent meets the 
survivor’s eligibility requirements 
as stated in this document 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Submission of a completed Retiree Benefit Enrollment and Change Form (RBECF).  
 Copy of death certificate.  
 SSN and copy of the certified marriage certificate  

Settlement 
Agreement 

Within 60 days of 
Settlement Agreement 

• Retroactive to date established by 
the hearing officer decision, but 
not more than 12 months under 
the CDHP, LD PPO, or EPO Plan; or 
not more than 6 months prior to 
PEBP’s receipt of the hearing 
officer’s decision for the HMO; or 

• if the employee chooses not to pay 
back premiums, the first month 
after notification.  

• Employee may re-enroll in 
coverage; or 

• Decline coverage 

Required Supporting Documents 

 Copy of hearing officer’s decision.  
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Qualifying Events 
IRS Code Section 125 
IRS Code Section 125 states that Qualifying Life Events, or HIPAA Special Enrollments, are 
generally prospective from the notification date when subject to “cafeteria plan” rules. In the 
event there is a conflict, IRS Code Section 125 controls.  

See Section 125 Health and Welfare Benefits Master Plan Document, specifically section 3.5 and 
5.1, regarding changes on a prospective basis. 

Dependent Loses Other Employer Group Health Care Coverage 
An eligible spouse, domestic partner or dependent that ceases to be covered by another 
employer group health plan may be added to the participant’s coverage if enrollment and proof 
of loss of coverage is provided within 60 days after the termination of coverage under that other 
employer group health insurance policy or plan if that other coverage terminated because: 

• Loss of eligibility because of divorce, dissolution of a domestic partnership, 
cessation of dependent status (such as attaining the limiting age for a dependent 
child), death, termination of employment, reduction in hours; or 

• An HMO or other arrangement in the employer group market that does not 
provide benefits to individuals who no longer reside or work in a service area 
(whether or not within the choice of the individual), and no other benefit package 
is available to the individual; or  

• A plan no longer offers any benefits to a class of similarly situated individuals; or 
• The termination of COBRA Continuation Coverage for any of the following 

reasons: 
o When the employer or other responsible entity terminates the health care 

plan and there is no other COBRA Continuation Coverage available to the 
individual; 

o When the individual no longer resides or works in a service area of an EPO, 
HMO, or similar program (whether or not by the choice of the individual) and 
there is no other COBRA Continuation Coverage available to the individual; or 

o The 18-month, 24-month, 29-month or 36-month period of COBRA 
Continuation Coverage has expired. 

However, if an employee or dependent lost other health care coverage as a result of the 
individual’s voluntary cancellation of coverage, termination of coverage through the state health 
exchange (Affordable Care Act (ACA)), failure to pay premiums, reduction, or elimination of 
employer financial payment of premiums, or for cause, such as making a fraudulent claim, that 
individual does not have enrollment rights. 

Gain of Other Employer Group Health Care Coverage 
If an otherwise eligible spouse/domestic partner gains health care coverage through their 
employer, they are no longer eligible to maintain PEBP coverage. For additional information, see 
the section on Significantly Inferior Coverage. 
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The primary participant and any covered dependents may opt to accept the other employer’s 
coverage and decline PEBP coverage during the spouse’s/domestic partner’s initial benefit 
enrollment period. The participant will be required to submit an enrollment election along with 
proof of the new hire date, effective date of coverage, including the names of covered 
dependents within 60 days of the new coverage effective date.  

PEBP must be notified within 60 days of the effective date of the spouse’s or domestic partner’s 
coverage under the spouse’s or domestic partner’s employer group health plan. Notification after 
60 days will result in coverage terminating at the end of the month PEBP receives proof of the 
other employer’s coverage. Premium refunds will not be given for late notification.  

If a dependent child gains coverage through their employer, the dependent child can be removed 
from coverage by the participant or the child can remain on the PEBP Plan. The order of benefit 
determination rules is described in the Coordination of Benefits section in the PEBP EPO  Plan, 
Low Deductible PPO or Consumer Driven Health Plan for Medical, Vision and Prescription Drug 
Benefits Master Plan Document or the HMO Evidence of Coverage Certificate to establish which 
plan is the primary plan (pays first) and which is secondary (pays second). 

Open Enrollment for Employer of Spouse or Domestic Partner 
If the employer of an eligible spouse or domestic partner offers an open enrollment period for 
their employees, the primary participant and any covered dependents may opt to accept the 
other employer’s coverage and decline PEBP coverage during the spouse’s/domestic partner’s 
open enrollment period. This option only applies when the participant’s coverage is new under 
the spouse’s/domestic partner’s plan.  

The participant will be required to submit an enrollment election along with proof of the open 
enrollment period, effective date of coverage, including the names of covered dependents within 
60 days of the new coverage effective date.  

Change of Residence 
A qualifying event may be initiated by a participant’s change in place of residence, if that change 
impairs the ability of a participant to access the services of in-network health care providers. 
Participants who move outside of the EPO Plan or HMO coverage area must select another 
coverage option by updating their information with PEBP within 30 days after moving out of the 
previous service area. If a participant does not select a coverage option that is available at the 
new address within 30 days, the participant will be defaulted into the CDHP with an HRA. If the 
enrollment update is not received within 30 days, the change will be made for the first of the 
month following submission of the change of address. Any overpayments due to lack of 
notification within 30 days will not be refunded.  

Retirees covered through Medicare exchange who move out of the United States may select 
coverage under an eligible PEBP Plan. Retirees who are eligible for premium-free Medicare Part 
A and who move back into the United States must select coverage through the Exchange. 



 

Public Employees’ Benefits Program   Enrollment and Eligibility Plan Year 2024 
56 

Declining Active Employee Coverage 
An employee may decline coverage at initial enrollment, during PEBP’s open enrollment, during 
the spouse’s/domestic partner’s open enrollment period or marriage (see open enrollment for 
employer of spouse or domestic partner section). An employee will not receive a financial 
incentive or compensation when in declined coverage status and will not be eligible for basic life 
and long-term disability insurance or any voluntary products.  

Declining Retiree or Survivor’s Coverage 
Retirees and survivors may decline coverage at any time during the year. Coverage will terminate 
on the last day of the month PEBP receives notification, generally written, request to decline 
coverage. Declining coverage will terminate medical, dental, vision, prescription drug coverage, 
basic life insurance, voluntary life insurance, years of service premium subsidy and HRA 
contribution (if applicable). See the Retiree Late Enrollment section for re-enrollment rights.  

Declining Unsubsidized Dependent Coverage 
Unsubsidized dependents enrolled in a PEBP-sponsored medical plan may decline coverage at 
any time during the year. Coverage will terminate on the last day of the month PEBP receives 
notification, generally written, to decline coverage.  
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Significantly Inferior Coverage 
If PEBP determines the coverage available to the spouse/domestic partner by their employer 
meets the definition of “Significantly Inferior Coverage,” the spouse/domestic partner is required 
to decline such coverage from their employer prior to being enrolled as a dependent on the 
participant’s PEBP plan. 

The PEBP Board has defined significantly inferior coverage as either: 

• A mini-med or other limited benefit plan (see definitions, below); or 
• A catastrophic coverage plan which includes a Deductible equal to or greater than 

$5,000 for single coverage with no employer contributions to a Health Savings 
Account or Health Reimbursement Arrangement 

In order for PEBP to make the determination to allow a spouse/domestic partner with 
“Significantly Inferior Coverage” to enroll as a dependent in the PEBP Plan, an official summary 
of the coverage details from spouse/domestic partner’s employer outlining the health insurance 
coverage plans available to their employees must be provided to PEBP. 

If your spouse/domestic partner cannot decline coverage from their employer until the open 
enrollment period, the decline of coverage at that time will be considered a qualifying event to 
add the spouse/domestic partner to the participant’s PEBP Plan. 
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Leaves of Absence 
Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) 
The FMLA entitles an eligible employee to up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave during 
a rolling 12-month period measured backward from the date an eligible employee uses any 
qualifying FMLA leave. The FMLA also includes a special leave entitlement that permits eligible 
employees to take up to 26 weeks of leave to care for a covered service member during a single 
12-month period, measured forward from the first day of usage.  

During FMLA leave, the employer must maintain the employee’s health coverage under any 
employer group health plan on the same terms as if the employee had continued to work, 
regardless of whether the employee is on paid or unpaid leave. Upon return from FMLA leave, 
most employees must be restored to their original or equivalent positions with equivalent pay, 
benefits, and other employment terms.  

Employees are eligible for FMLA leave if they have worked for 12 months and for 1,250 hours 
over the previous 12 months. For an overview of FMLA provided by the Department of 
Administration, Human Resource Management visit 
https://www.dol.gov/general/topic/benefits-leave/fmla.  

Employees who return to work promptly at the end of that leave, regardless of whether they 
kept their coverage while on leave, may continue or reinstate the same plan option and coverage 
tier without any additional limits or restrictions imposed on account of the leave. If an employee 
declines coverage while on family or medical leave, coverage will be reinstated to the same plan 
option and coverage tier on the first of the month in which the employee is in paid status 80 
hours using a combination of FMLA and/or paid time.  

The National Defense Authorization Act of 2008 (NDAA) expanded provisions of the FMLA. The 
NDAA extends family medical leave entitlements to the relatives of members of the armed 
services (including the National Guard and Reserves). NDAA makes two significant changes to 
FMLA:  (i) an eligible employee who is a spouse or domestic partner, son, daughter, parent or 
“next of kin” of a covered service member is now entitled to a total of 26 weeks of FMLA during 
a 12 month period to care for the serious injury or illness of the wounded/disabled service 
member; and (ii) an employee will be entitled to FMLA on account of a “qualifying exigency” that 
occurs because the spouse or domestic partner, son, daughter, or parent of the employee is on 
active duty (or has been notified of an impending call or order to active duty) in the Armed Forces 
in support of a contingency operation.   

Any changes in the Plan’s terms, rules or practices that went into effect while an employee is 
away on leave will apply to the employee and any dependents in the same way they apply to all 
other employees and their dependents. Employees should contact their agency representative 
to find out more about their entitlement to family or medical leave as required by federal and/or 
state law, and the terms on which it may be entitled.  

 

https://www.dol.gov/general/topic/benefits-leave/fmla
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Leave Without Pay (LWOP) 
A State agency that employs an individual who is on LWOP (other than FMLA leave) shall NOT 
pay any amount of the cost of premium or contributions for group insurance for that employee, 
unless the employee receives a minimum compensation of 80 hours in the month .  

An employee who is on approved LWOP may pay the full cost of premiums for their coverage and 
insurance to PEBP. An employee on LWOP is not eligible for coverage as a dependent of another 
PEBP covered participant  

At the initial start of leave, it is the employee’s responsibility to inform PEBP of their coverage 
preference while on leave. If the employee fails to inform PEBP of his or her coverage preference 
while on leave, PEBP will continue the same medical plan and coverage tier that the employee 
had in effect prior to taking that leave. When the employee returns from leave, their coverage 
will revert to their original plan selection prior to going on leave. 

Leave for Military Service/Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act 
(USERRA) 
Employees who go into active military service for up to 31 days can continue their health care 
coverage during that leave period if they continue to pay their contributions for that coverage 
during the period of that leave. 

State employees who go into active military service for 31 days or more are eligible to enroll in 
health care coverage provided by the military the day the employee is activated for military duty. 
This coverage is also available to dependents. The employee is also eligible to purchase continued 
health care coverage through PEBP for up to 24 months in a manner like the provisions of COBRA. 
When the employee returns from military leave within the required reemployment period, there 
will be an immediate reinstatement of PEBP-sponsored medical coverage with no waiting period. 
Questions regarding entitlement to this leave and to the continuation of health care coverage 
should be referred to PEBP. Questions regarding reemployment rights should be addressed with 
the employer. 

Worker’s Compensation Leave  
Employee and dependent health care coverage during the period of Worker’s Compensation 
leave will automatically be continued for a period of up to 9 months. To continue coverage, 
employees must pay their contribution for that coverage during the period of that leave directly 
to PEBP by the date on the bill. Late payment will result in termination of coverage. Coverage 
terminated for non-payment may not be reinstated until the employee returns to work. 
Employees may elect to discontinue dependent coverage while on Workers’ Compensation leave. 

Following the 9-month period during which the employee has been on Worker’s Compensation 
leave, the employee will be required to make the full, unsubsidized payment for health care 
coverage for themselves and their dependents. Once the employee returns to work, insurance 
coverage will be reinstated exactly the way it was before the employee was placed on Workers’ 
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Compensation leave, unless the employee selected different coverage during an open enrollment 
period or experienced a qualifying event. 
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Premium Assistance  
Under Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP)  
If you or your children are eligible for Medicaid or CHIP and you’re eligible for health coverage 
from your employer, your state may have a premium assistance program that can help pay for 
coverage, using funds from their Medicaid or CHIP programs. If you or your children aren’t eligible 
for Medicaid or CHIP, you won’t be eligible for these premium assistance programs but you may 
be able to buy individual insurance coverage through the Health Insurance Marketplace. For 
more information, visit www.healthcare.gov.  

If you or your dependents are already enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP and you live in a State listed 
below, contact your State Medicaid or CHIP office to find out if premium assistance is available.  

If you or your dependents are NOT currently enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP, and you think you or 
any of your dependents might be eligible for either of these programs, contact your State 
Medicaid or CHIP office or dial 1-877-KIDS NOW or www.insurekidsnow.gov to find out how to 
apply.  If you qualify, ask your state if it has a program that might help you pay the premiums for 
an employer-sponsored plan.  

If you or your dependents are eligible for premium assistance under Medicaid or CHIP, as well as 
eligible under your employer plan, your employer must allow you to enroll in your employer plan 
if you aren’t already enrolled. This is called a “special enrollment” opportunity, and you must 
request coverage within 60 days of being determined eligible for premium assistance. If you 
have questions about enrolling in your employer plan, contact the Department of Labor at 
www.askebsa.dol.gov or call 1-866-444-EBSA (3272). 

 

If you live in one of the following states, you may be eligible for assistance paying your 
employer health plan premiums. The following list of states is current as of July 31, 2022. 

Contact your State for more information on eligibility 

ALABAMA – Medicaid ALASKA – Medicaid 

Website: http://myalhipp.com/ 
Phone: 1-855-692-5447 

The AK Health Insurance Premium Payment Program 
Website:  http://myakhipp.com/ 
Phone:  1-866-251-4861 
Email:  CustomerService@MyAKHIPP.com 
Medicaid Eligibility:  
https://health.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/default.aspx 

ARKANSAS – Medicaid CALIFORNIA – Medicaid 

Website: http://myarhipp.com/ 
Phone: 1-855-MyARHIPP (855-692-7447) 

Website: 
Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) Program 
http://dhcs.ca.gov/hipp 
Phone: 916-445-8322 
Fax: 916-440-5676 
Email: hipp@dhcs.ca.gov 

http://www.healthcare.gov/
http://www.insurekidsnow.gov/
http://www.askebsa.dol.gov/
http://myalhipp.com/
http://myakhipp.com/
mailto:CustomerService@MyAKHIPP.com
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fhealth.alaska.gov%2Fdpa%2FPages%2Fdefault.aspx&data=05%7C01%7CBerman.Nathaniel%40dol.gov%7Ca5722ebf007e4847fe8808da69a45fb9%7C75a6305472044e0c9126adab971d4aca%7C0%7C0%7C637938452103798639%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=A5Fggwg0lR2c%2FOwofWNVpVk8b5%2FFX1kaOQNuuEwAAAE%3D&reserved=0
http://myarhipp.com/
http://dhcs.ca.gov/hipp
mailto:hipp@dhcs.ca.gov
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COLORADO – Health First Colorado (Colorado’s 
Medicaid Program) & Child Health Plan Plus 

(CHP+) 

FLORIDA – Medicaid 

Health First Colorado Website: 
https://www.healthfirstcolorado.com/  
Health First Colorado Member Contact Center:  
1-800-221-3943/ State Relay 711 
CHP+: https://hcpf.colorado.gov/child-health-plan-plus  
CHP+ Customer Service: 1-800-359-1991/ State Relay 711 
Health Insurance Buy-In Program 
(HIBI):  https://www.mycohibi.com/ 
HIBI Customer Service:  1-855-692-6442 

Website: 
https://www.flmedicaidtplrecovery.com/flmedicaidtplrecover
y.com/hipp/index.html 
Phone: 1-877-357-3268 

GEORGIA – Medicaid  INDIANA – Medicaid  

GA HIPP Website: https://medicaid.georgia.gov/health-
insurance-premium-payment-program-hipp 
Phone: 678-564-1162, Press 1 
GA CHIPRA Website: 
https://medicaid.georgia.gov/programs/third-party-
liability/childrens-health-insurance-program-reauthorization-
act-2009-chipra 
Phone: (678) 564-1162, Press 2 

Healthy Indiana Plan for low-income adults 19-64 
Website: http://www.in.gov/fssa/hip/ 
Phone: 1-877-438-4479 
All other Medicaid 
Website: https://www.in.gov/medicaid/ 
Phone 1-800-457-4584 

IOWA – Medicaid and CHIP (Hawki) KANSAS – Medicaid 

Medicaid Website:  
https://dhs.iowa.gov/ime/members 
Medicaid Phone: 1-800-338-8366 
Hawki Website:  
http://dhs.iowa.gov/Hawki 
Hawki Phone: 1-800-257-8563 
HIPP Website: https://dhs.iowa.gov/ime/members/medicaid-
a-to-z/hipp 
HIPP Phone: 1-888-346-9562 

Website:  https://www.kancare.ks.gov/ 
Phone:  1-800-792-4884 
HIPP Phone: 1-800-766-9012 

KENTUCKY – Medicaid LOUISIANA – Medicaid 

Kentucky Integrated Health Insurance Premium Payment 
Program (KI-HIPP) Website: 
https://chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dms/member/Pages/kihipp.aspx 
Phone: 1-855-459-6328 
Email: KIHIPP.PROGRAM@ky.gov 
KCHIP Website: https://kidshealth.ky.gov/Pages/index.aspx  
Phone: 1-877-524-4718 
Kentucky Medicaid Website: https://chfs.ky.gov 

Website: www.medicaid.la.gov or www.ldh.la.gov/lahipp 
Phone: 1-888-342-6207 (Medicaid hotline) or  
1-855-618-5488 (LaHIPP)  

MAINE – Medicaid MASSACHUSETTS – Medicaid and CHIP 

Enrollment Website:  
https://www.mymaineconnection.gov/benefits/s/?language=en
_US 
Phone: 1-800-442-6003 
TTY: Maine relay 711 
Private Health Insurance Premium Webpage: 
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/applications-forms 
Phone: 1-800-977-6740  

Website: https://www.mass.gov/masshealth/pa  
Phone: 1-800-862-4840 
TTY: (617) 886-8102 

https://www.healthfirstcolorado.com/
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/child-health-plan-plus
https://www.mycohibi.com/
https://www.flmedicaidtplrecovery.com/flmedicaidtplrecovery.com/hipp/index.html
https://www.flmedicaidtplrecovery.com/flmedicaidtplrecovery.com/hipp/index.html
https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fmedicaid.georgia.gov%2Fhealth-insurance-premium-payment-program-hipp&data=02%7C01%7Cstashlaw%40dch.ga.gov%7C98b18a96ce1b49d087f708d709449652%7C512da10d071b4b948abc9ec4044d1516%7C0%7C0%7C636988062560854968&sdata=7rziGawQfBKcW1N2%2Bdi2j8cyHpaCYURGdtF8Hk%2By6FM%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fmedicaid.georgia.gov%2Fhealth-insurance-premium-payment-program-hipp&data=02%7C01%7Cstashlaw%40dch.ga.gov%7C98b18a96ce1b49d087f708d709449652%7C512da10d071b4b948abc9ec4044d1516%7C0%7C0%7C636988062560854968&sdata=7rziGawQfBKcW1N2%2Bdi2j8cyHpaCYURGdtF8Hk%2By6FM%3D&reserved=0
https://medicaid.georgia.gov/programs/third-party-liability/childrens-health-insurance-program-reauthorization-act-2009-chipra
https://medicaid.georgia.gov/programs/third-party-liability/childrens-health-insurance-program-reauthorization-act-2009-chipra
https://medicaid.georgia.gov/programs/third-party-liability/childrens-health-insurance-program-reauthorization-act-2009-chipra
http://www.in.gov/fssa/hip/
https://www.in.gov/medicaid/
https://dhs.iowa.gov/ime/members
http://dhs.iowa.gov/Hawki
http://dhs.iowa.gov/Hawki
https://dhs.iowa.gov/ime/members/medicaid-a-to-z/hipp
https://dhs.iowa.gov/ime/members/medicaid-a-to-z/hipp
https://www.kancare.ks.gov/
https://chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dms/member/Pages/kihipp.aspx
mailto:KIHIPP.PROGRAM@ky.gov
https://kidshealth.ky.gov/Pages/index.aspx
https://chfs.ky.gov/
http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/subhome/1/n/331
http://www.ldh.la.gov/lahipp
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.mymaineconnection.gov%2Fbenefits%2Fs%2F%3Flanguage%3Den_US&data=05%7C01%7CClinton.Latisha.M%40dol.gov%7Cb96a31a5c25e4e1da49908daf4ae9bf1%7C75a6305472044e0c9126adab971d4aca%7C0%7C0%7C638091328210827160%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=GeBtSEsUoaCw5ukO%2F6O2IUy%2B9FzGqgY%2FJ2C9OgAhxE4%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.mymaineconnection.gov%2Fbenefits%2Fs%2F%3Flanguage%3Den_US&data=05%7C01%7CClinton.Latisha.M%40dol.gov%7Cb96a31a5c25e4e1da49908daf4ae9bf1%7C75a6305472044e0c9126adab971d4aca%7C0%7C0%7C638091328210827160%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=GeBtSEsUoaCw5ukO%2F6O2IUy%2B9FzGqgY%2FJ2C9OgAhxE4%3D&reserved=0
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/applications-forms
https://www.mass.gov/masshealth/pa
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TTY: Maine relay 711 

MINNESOTA – Medicaid MISSOURI – Medicaid 

Website: http://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-
serve/seniors/health-care/health-care-
programs/programs-and-services/medical-
assistance.jsp 
https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-
families/health-care/health-care-programs/programs-and-
services/other-insurance.jsp 
Phone: 1-800-657-3739 

Website: 
http://www.dss.mo.gov/mhd/participants/pages/hipp.htm 
Phone: 573-751-2005 

MONTANA – Medicaid NEBRASKA – Medicaid  

Website: 
http://dphhs.mt.gov/MontanaHealthcarePrograms/HIPP 
Phone: 1-800-694-3084 
Email: HHSHIPPProgram@mt.gov 

Website:  http://www.ACCESSNebraska.ne.gov 
Phone: 1-855-632-7633 
Lincoln: 402-473-7000 
Omaha: 402-595-1178  

NEVADA – Medicaid NEW HAMPSHIRE – Medicaid 

Medicaid Website:  http://dhcfp.nv.gov 
Medicaid Phone:  1-800-992-0900 

Website: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/programs-
services/medicaid/health-insurance-premium-program 
Phone: 603-271-5218 
Toll free number for the HIPP program: 1-800-852-3345, ext. 
5218 

NEW JERSEY – Medicaid and CHIP NEW YORK – Medicaid 

Medicaid Website:  
http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/ 
dmahs/clients/medicaid/ 
Medicaid Phone: 609-631-2392 
CHIP Website: http://www.njfamilycare.org/index.html 
CHIP Phone: 1-800-701-0710 

Website: https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/ 
Phone: 1-800-541-2831 

NORTH CAROLINA – Medicaid NORTH DAKOTA – Medicaid 

Website:  https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/ 
Phone:  919-855-4100 

Website: 
http://www.nd.gov/dhs/services/medicalserv/medicaid/ 
Phone: 1-844-854-4825 

OKLAHOMA – Medicaid and CHIP OREGON – Medicaid 

Website: http://www.insureoklahoma.org 
Phone: 1-888-365-3742 

Website: http://healthcare.oregon.gov/Pages/index.aspx 
http://www.oregonhealthcare.gov/index-es.html 
Phone: 1-800-699-9075 

PENNSYLVANIA – Medicaid and CHIP RHODE ISLAND – Medicaid and CHIP 

http://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/seniors/health-care/health-care-programs/programs-and-services/medical-assistance.jsp
http://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/seniors/health-care/health-care-programs/programs-and-services/medical-assistance.jsp
http://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/seniors/health-care/health-care-programs/programs-and-services/medical-assistance.jsp
http://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/seniors/health-care/health-care-programs/programs-and-services/medical-assistance.jsp
https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/health-care/health-care-programs/programs-and-services/other-insurance.jsp
https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/health-care/health-care-programs/programs-and-services/other-insurance.jsp
https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/children-and-families/health-care/health-care-programs/programs-and-services/other-insurance.jsp
http://www.dss.mo.gov/mhd/participants/pages/hipp.htm
http://dphhs.mt.gov/MontanaHealthcarePrograms/HIPP
mailto:HHSHIPPProgram@mt.gov
http://www.accessnebraska.ne.gov/
http://dhcfp.nv.gov/
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.dhhs.nh.gov%2Fprograms-services%2Fmedicaid%2Fhealth-insurance-premium-program&data=05%7C01%7CGoodwin.Carolyn%40dol.gov%7C6aa7b22dba29413479c108da73eb96c6%7C75a6305472044e0c9126adab971d4aca%7C0%7C0%7C637949752922233349%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=mUgACydlz9JGXnHMgi%2FUkDGD0QyTI1U6Tjwue%2Bq8D0Q%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.dhhs.nh.gov%2Fprograms-services%2Fmedicaid%2Fhealth-insurance-premium-program&data=05%7C01%7CGoodwin.Carolyn%40dol.gov%7C6aa7b22dba29413479c108da73eb96c6%7C75a6305472044e0c9126adab971d4aca%7C0%7C0%7C637949752922233349%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=mUgACydlz9JGXnHMgi%2FUkDGD0QyTI1U6Tjwue%2Bq8D0Q%3D&reserved=0
http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmahs/clients/medicaid/
http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmahs/clients/medicaid/
http://www.njfamilycare.org/index.html
https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/
http://www.nd.gov/dhs/services/medicalserv/medicaid/
http://www.insureoklahoma.org/
http://healthcare.oregon.gov/Pages/index.aspx
http://www.oregonhealthcare.gov/index-es.html
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To see if any other states have added a premium assistance program since July 31, 2022, or for 
more information on special enrollment rights, contact either: 
 
U.S. Department of Labor        
Employee Benefits Security Administration     
www.dol.gov/agencies/ebsa       
1-866-444-EBSA (3272) 
 

U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services   
www.cms.hhs.gov  
1-877-267-2323, Menu Option 4, Ext. 61565  

Paperwork Reduction Act Statement 
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995 (Pub. L. 104-13) (PRA), no persons are 
required to respond to a collection of information unless such collection displays a valid Office of 
Management and Budget (OMB) control number. The Department notes that a Federal agency 
cannot conduct or sponsor a collection of information unless it is approved by OMB  
 

Website: 
https://www.dhs.pa.gov/Services/Assistance/Pages/HIPP-
Program.aspx 
Phone: 1-800-692-7462 
CHIP Website: Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) 
(pa.gov) 
CHIP Phone: 1-800-986-KIDS (5437) 

Website: http://www.eohhs.ri.gov/ 
Phone: 1-855-697-4347, or  
401-462-0311 (Direct RIte Share Line) 

SOUTH CAROLINA – Medicaid SOUTH DAKOTA - Medicaid 

Website: https://www.scdhhs.gov 
Phone: 1-888-549-0820 

Website: http://dss.sd.gov 
Phone: 1-888-828-0059 
 

TEXAS – Medicaid UTAH – Medicaid and CHIP 
Website: http://gethipptexas.com/ 
Phone: 1-800-440-0493 

Medicaid Website: https://medicaid.utah.gov/ 
CHIP Website: http://health.utah.gov/chip 
Phone: 1-877-543-7669 

VERMONT– Medicaid VIRGINIA – Medicaid and CHIP 

Website: Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) Program 
| Department of Vermont Health Access 
Phone: 1-800-250-8427 

Website:  https://www.coverva.org/en/famis-select 
                 https://www.coverva.org/en/hipp  
Medicaid/CHIP Phone:  1-800-432-5924 

WASHINGTON – Medicaid WEST VIRGINIA – Medicaid and CHIP 

Website: https://www.hca.wa.gov/   
Phone:  1-800-562-3022 

Website: https://dhhr.wv.gov/bms/  
               http://mywvhipp.com/ 
Medicaid Phone: 304-558-1700 
CHIP Toll-free phone: 1-855-MyWVHIPP (1-855-699-8447) 

WISCONSIN – Medicaid and CHIP WYOMING – Medicaid 

Website:  
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/badgercareplus/p-10095.htm 
Phone: 1-800-362-3002 

Website: 
https://health.wyo.gov/healthcarefin/medicaid/programs-and-
eligibility/ 
Phone: 1-800-251-1269 
 

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ebsa
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/
https://www.dhs.pa.gov/Services/Assistance/Pages/HIPP-Program.aspx
https://www.dhs.pa.gov/Services/Assistance/Pages/HIPP-Program.aspx
https://www.dhs.pa.gov/CHIP/Pages/CHIP.aspx
https://www.dhs.pa.gov/CHIP/Pages/CHIP.aspx
http://www.eohhs.ri.gov/
https://www.scdhhs.gov/
http://dss.sd.gov/
http://gethipptexas.com/
https://medicaid.utah.gov/
http://health.utah.gov/chip
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fdvha.vermont.gov%2Fmembers%2Fmedicaid%2Fhipp-program&data=05%7C01%7CClinton.Latisha.M%40dol.gov%7C3daa411d0e934769e75c08daf4bf842e%7C75a6305472044e0c9126adab971d4aca%7C0%7C0%7C638091400777632051%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=7ao%2BrltzkBEMojzmZ9O8UllrAdaRI%2Fmzhq3FE%2Bf%2B2nk%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fdvha.vermont.gov%2Fmembers%2Fmedicaid%2Fhipp-program&data=05%7C01%7CClinton.Latisha.M%40dol.gov%7C3daa411d0e934769e75c08daf4bf842e%7C75a6305472044e0c9126adab971d4aca%7C0%7C0%7C638091400777632051%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=7ao%2BrltzkBEMojzmZ9O8UllrAdaRI%2Fmzhq3FE%2Bf%2B2nk%3D&reserved=0
https://www.coverva.org/en/famis-select
https://www.coverva.org/en/hipp
https://www.hca.wa.gov/
https://dhhr.wv.gov/bms/
http://mywvhipp.com/
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/badgercareplus/p-10095.htm
https://health.wyo.gov/healthcarefin/medicaid/programs-and-eligibility/
https://health.wyo.gov/healthcarefin/medicaid/programs-and-eligibility/
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under the PRA, and displays a currently valid OMB control number, and the public is not required 
to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a currently valid OMB control number. 
See 44 U.S.C. 3507. Also, notwithstanding any other provisions of law, no person shall be subject 
to penalty for failing to comply with a collection of information if the collection of information 
does not display a currently valid OMB control number. See . U.S.C. U.S.C.  
 
The public reporting burden for this collection of information is estimated to average 
approximately seven minutes per respondent. Interested parties are encouraged to send 
comments regarding the burden estimate or any other aspect of this collection of information, 
including suggestions for reducing this burden, to the U.S. Department of Labor, Employee 
Benefits Security Administration, Office of Policy and Research, Attention: PRA Clearance Officer, 
200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Room N-5718, Washington, DC 20210 or email 
ebsa.opr@dol.gov and reference the OMB Control Number 1210-0137. 
 
OMB Control Number 1210-0137 (expires 1/31/2026) 
  

mailto:ebsa.opr@dol.gov
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Payment for Coverage 
Most eligible State employees are provided a subsidy toward the cost of plan coverage. To obtain 
information about subsidy amounts, service calculations, and premium information, please visit 
the PEBP website (www.pebp.state.nv.us) or call PEBP Member Services. Employees on leave 
without pay (other than FMLA), dependents, legislators and survivors are not eligible for a 
subsidy. The option of electing additional voluntary products at cost may be available to an 
employee or retiree. 

Retirees eligible for a subsidy must submit the required Years of Service Certification Form to the 
PEBP office by the last day of the month preceding the retirement effective date to receive the 
first month’s subsidy. 

To receive a Medicare Part B premium credit, eligible retirees must send a copy of their Medicare 
Card to PEBP. The Medicare Part B premium credit will be applied to the retiree account the first 
day of the month following the receipt of the Medicare Card, but no earlier than the effective 
date of the Medicare Part B coverage. The Medicare Part B premium credit is for retirees on the 
CDHP, HMO or EPO Plan only. 

Premiums for CDHP, LD PPO Plan, HMO or  EPO Plan coverage are automatically deducted from 
the participant’s paycheck or pension. Each monthly premium applies to coverage for that same 
month. In the following circumstances, premiums shall be paid directly to PEBP monthly: 

• The employee is on unpaid leave. 
• The retiree’s pension is not large enough to cover the premium amount, or if PERS 

payroll deductions rules cause the PEBP contribution to not be taken. 
• The participant is a retiree of the Nevada System of Higher Education who 

participates in an alternative retirement plan. 
• The participant is an active legislator.  
• The participant is on COBRA coverage. 
• The individual is an unsubsidized dependent; or 
• For survivors who do not receive a PERS pension benefit.  

If COBRA coverage is terminated due to non-payment, that individual will not be able to re-enroll 
in the Plan under COBRA. If employee coverage is terminated due to non-payment, that 
employee will not be able to re-enroll in the Plan until the next open enrollment, he or she 
experiences a special enrollment or mid-year change event, or until the employee returns from 
leave and the account has been paid in full. If coverage of a retiree, survivor or unsubsidized 
dependent is terminated for non-payment that individual will not be able to re-enroll in the Plan 
until the next open enrollment period (if eligible) and until the account is paid in full. 

Participants will be billed via premium invoice and will be required to pay the following directly 
to PEBP: 

 

http://www.pebp.state.nv.us/
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• Contributions resulting from retroactive coverage changes; or 
• Claims incurred by the participant or their dependents who access the Plan during 

a period when they are ineligible for coverage. 

Premium overpayments due to lack of proper notification by the participant will not be refunded. 
Participants who fail to pay their premiums or ineligible claims may be reported to the State 
Controller’s office or to a private collection agency for collection of past due amounts. Collection 
costs may also be assessed to the participant. 

PERS Deduction for the Medicare Exchange Plan 
Federal rules for the Medicare Exchange require the individual to pay medical insurance 
premiums directly to the carrier. PEBP will not take automatic deductions from retirement 
distributions to pay for coverage provided through the Medicare Exchange except dental 
coverage provided by PEBP if the retiree elects to enroll in the PEBP Self-funded PPO dental plan. 

Late Notification of Death 
Adjustments in premiums resulting from the death of a covered participant or dependent will be 
refunded if notification of death is received within 60 days of the participant’s or dependent’s 
date of death. Notification of death beyond the 60-day period will not be refunded.  

Billing Errors 
It is the participant’s responsibility to ensure the premiums paid by the participant are accurate. 
Refunds for premiums billed in error and paid by the participant more than six months old are at 
the sole discretion of PEBP.  

Termination for Non-Payment 
Payment for the current month’s coverage is due on the 20th of each month. Acceptance and 
deposit of a payment does not in itself guarantee coverage. If the participant fails to meet 
eligibility and enrollment requirements, coverage may be terminated, and the payment refunded 
to the participant. 

Any account 30 days past due, including Retirees enrolled in the Medicare Exchange with PEBP 
Dental, is subject to termination retroactive to the last day of the month for which premium 
payment was received in full. Participants will be billed for any claims incurred and paid for by 
the Plan after the effective date of termination. 

Change to Years of Service Re-Audit Results for Retirees  
Years of service premium subsidy and years of service Exchange HRA contribution are effective 
upon the date of retirement, based on the audit from either the Public Employees’ Retirement 
System (PERS) or the Nevada System of Higher Education (NSHE). Changes to the years of service 
premium subsidy and years of service Exchange HRA contribution resulting from a future audit 
will occur on the first (1st) day of the month concurrent with or following the date PEBP receives 
the audit results from the PERS or NSHE. (NAC 287.485)   

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-287.html#NAC287Sec485
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COBRA 
COBRA – the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act – requires group health plans to 
offer continuation coverage to covered employees, former employees, spouses, former spouses, 
and dependent children when group health coverage would otherwise be lost due to certain 
events. Those events include: 

• A covered employee’s or retiree’s death, 
• A covered employee’s job loss or reduction in hours for reasons other than gross 

misconduct, 
• A COBRA beneficiary becoming entitled to Medicare, 
• A covered employee’s divorce or legal separation, and 
• A child’s loss of dependent status (and therefore coverage) under the plan.  

COBRA sets rules for how and when plan sponsors must offer and provide continuation coverage, 
how employees and their families may elect continuation coverage, and what circumstances 
justify terminating continuation coverage. 

Employers may require individuals to pay for COBRA continuation coverage. 

Life insurance and disability benefits are not considered “medical care.” COBRA does not cover 
plans that provide only life insurance or disability benefits. 

Alternatives to COBRA Continuation Coverage 
Those entitled to elect COBRA continuation coverage may have more affordable or generous 
alternatives for coverage. One option may be “special enrollment” in other group health 
coverage. Under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA), upon certain 
events, group health plans and health insurance issuers are required to provide a special 
enrollment period. During that period, individuals who previously declined coverage for 
themselves and their dependents, and who are otherwise eligible, may enroll without waiting 
until the next open season for enrollment. One event that triggers special enrollment is an 
employee or dependent losing eligibility for other health coverage. For example, an employee 
who loses group health coverage may be able to special enroll in a spouse’s health plan. The 
employee or dependent must request special enrollment within 30 days of losing other coverage. 

Who Is Entitled to Continuation Coverage 
A group health plan must offer COBRA continuation coverage only to qualified beneficiaries and 
only after a qualifying event has occurred.  

Qualified Beneficiaries 
A qualified beneficiary is an employee who was covered by a group health plan on the day before 
a qualifying event occurred, or that employee’s or retiree’s spouse, former spouse, or dependent 
child. In certain cases, involving employer bankruptcy, a retired employee and their spouse, 
former spouse, or dependent children may be qualified beneficiaries. In addition, any child born 
to or placed for adoption with a covered employee during a period of continuation coverage is 
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automatically considered a qualified beneficiary. An employer’s agents, independent 
contractors, and directors who participate in the group health plan may also be qualified 
beneficiaries. 

Qualifying Events 
“Qualifying events” are events that cause an individual to lose group health coverage. The type 
of qualifying event determines who the qualified beneficiaries are and the period of time that a 
plan must offer continuation coverage. COBRA establishes only the minimum requirements for 
continuation coverage. A plan may always choose to provide longer periods of continuation 
coverage and/or to contribute toward the cost. 

The following are qualifying events for a covered employee if they cause the covered employee 
to lose coverage:  

• Termination of the covered employee’s employment for any reason other than 
“gross misconduct,” or  

• Reduction in the covered employee’s hours of employment.  

The following are qualifying events for a spouse and dependent child of a covered employee or 
retiree if they cause the spouse or dependent child to lose coverage:  

• Termination of the covered employee’s employment for any reason other than 
“gross misconduct,”  

• Reduction in hours worked by the covered employee,  
• Covered employee becomes entitled to Medicare,  
• Divorce or legal separation from the covered employee or retiree, or  
• Death of the covered employee or retiree.  

In addition to the above, the following is a qualifying event for a dependent child of a covered 
employee or retiree if it causes the child to lose coverage:  Loss of “dependent child” status under 
the plan rules. Under the Affordable Care Act, plans that offer coverage to children on their 
parents’ plan must make coverage available until the child reaches the age of 26.   
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COBRA Continuation of Medical Coverage Notice 

You are getting this notice because you recently gained coverage under a group health plan (the 
Plan). This notice has important information about your right to COBRA continuation coverage, 
which is a temporary extension of coverage under the Plan. This notice explains COBRA 
continuation coverage, when it may become available to you and your family, and what you 
need to do to protect your right to get it. When you become eligible for COBRA, you may also 
become eligible for other coverage options that may cost less than COBRA continuation 
coverage. 

The right to COBRA continuation coverage was created by a federal law, the Consolidated 
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985 (COBRA). COBRA continuation coverage can become 
available to you and other members of your family when group health coverage would otherwise 
end. For more information about your rights and obligations under the Plan and under federal 
law, you should review the Plan’s Summary Plan Description or contact the Plan Administrator. 

You may have other options available to you when you lose group health coverage. For 
example, you may be eligible to buy an individual plan through the Health Insurance Marketplace. 
By enrolling in coverage through the Marketplace, you may qualify for lower costs on your 
monthly premiums and lower out-of-pocket costs. Additionally, you may qualify for a 30-day 
special enrollment period for another group health plan for which you are eligible (such as a 
spouse’s plan), even if that plan generally doesn’t accept late enrollees. 

What is COBRA continuation coverage? 
COBRA continuation coverage is a continuation of Plan coverage when it would otherwise end 
because of a life event. This is also called a “qualifying event.”  Specific qualifying events are listed 
later in this notice. After a qualifying event, COBRA continuation coverage must be offered to 
each person who is a “qualified beneficiary.”  You, your spouse, and your dependent children 
could become qualified beneficiaries if coverage under the Plan is lost because of the qualifying 
event. Under the Plan, qualified beneficiaries who elect COBRA continuation coverage must pay 
for COBRA continuation coverage. 

If you’re an employee, you’ll become a qualified beneficiary if you lose your coverage under the 
Plan because of the following qualifying events: 

• Your hours of employment are reduced, or 
• Your employment ends for any reason other than your gross misconduct. 

If you’re the spouse of an employee, you’ll become a qualified beneficiary if you lose your 
coverage under the Plan because of the following qualifying events: 

• Your spouse dies. 
• Your spouse’s hours of employment are reduced. 
• Your spouse’s employment ends for any reason other than his or her gross 

misconduct. 
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• Your spouse becomes entitled to Medicare benefits (under Part A, Part B, or both); 
or 

• You become divorced or legally separated from your spouse. 

Your dependent children will become qualified beneficiaries if they lose coverage under the Plan 
because of the following qualifying events: 

• The parent-employee dies. 
• The parent-employee’s hours of employment are reduced. 
• The parent-employee’s employment ends for any reason other than his or her 

gross misconduct. 
• The parent-employee becomes entitled to Medicare benefits (Part A, Part B, or 

both). 
• The parents become divorced or legally separated; or 
• The child stops being eligible for coverage under the Plan as a “dependent child.” 

Sometimes, filing a proceeding in bankruptcy under title 11 of the United States Code can be a 
qualifying event. If a proceeding in bankruptcy is filed with respect to PEBP, and that bankruptcy 
results in the loss of coverage of any retired employee covered under the Plan, the retired 
employee will become a qualified beneficiary. The retired employee’s spouse, surviving spouse, 
and dependent children will also become qualified beneficiaries if bankruptcy results in the loss 
of their coverage under the Plan. 

When is COBRA continuation coverage available? 
The Plan will offer COBRA continuation coverage to qualified beneficiaries only after the Plan 
Administrator has been notified that a qualifying event has occurred. The employer must notify 
the Plan Administrator of the following qualifying events: 

• The end of employment or reduction of hours of employment. 
• Death of the employee. 
• Commencement of a proceeding in bankruptcy with respect to the employer;]; or 
• The employee’s becoming entitled to Medicare benefits (under Part A, Part B, or both). 

For all other qualifying events (divorce of the employee and spouse or a dependent child’s 
losing eligibility for coverage as a dependent child), you must notify the Plan Administrator 
within 60 days after the qualifying event occurs. You must provide this notice to PEBP.  

How is COBRA continuation coverage provided? 
Once the Plan Administrator receives notice that a qualifying event has occurred, COBRA 
continuation coverage will be offered to each of the qualified beneficiaries. Each qualified 
beneficiary will have an independent right to elect COBRA continuation coverage. Covered 
employees may elect COBRA continuation coverage on behalf of their spouses, and parents may 
elect COBRA continuation coverage on behalf of their children. 
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COBRA continuation coverage is a temporary continuation of coverage that generally lasts for 18 
months due to employment termination or reduction of hours of work. Certain qualifying events, 
or a second qualifying event during the initial period of coverage, may permit a beneficiary to 
receive a maximum of 36 months of coverage. 

There are also ways in which this 18-month period of COBRA continuation coverage can be 
extended: 

Disability extension of 18-month period of COBRA continuation coverage 
If you or anyone in your family covered under the Plan is determined by Social Security to be 
disabled and you notify the Plan Administrator in a timely fashion, you and your entire family 
may be entitled to get up to an additional 11 months of COBRA continuation coverage, for a 
maximum of 29 months. The disability would have to have started at some time before the 60th 
day of COBRA continuation coverage and must last at least until the end of the 18-month period 
of COBRA continuation coverage. 

Second qualifying event extension of 18-month period of continuation coverage 
If your family experiences another qualifying event during the 18 months of COBRA continuation 
coverage, the spouse and dependent children in your family can get up to 18 additional months 
of COBRA continuation coverage, for a maximum of 36 months, if the Plan is properly notified 
about the second qualifying event. This extension may be available to the spouse and any 
dependent children getting COBRA continuation coverage if the employee or former employee 
dies; becomes entitled to Medicare benefits (under Part A, Part B, or both); gets divorced or 
legally separated; or if the dependent child stops being eligible under the Plan as a dependent 
child. This extension is only available if the second qualifying event would have caused the spouse 
or dependent child to lose coverage under the Plan had the first qualifying event not occurred. 

Are there other coverage options besides COBRA Continuation Coverage? 
Yes. Instead of enrolling in COBRA continuation coverage, there may be other coverage options 
for you and your family through the Health Insurance Marketplace, Medicare, Medicaid, 
Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), or other group health plan coverage options (such 
as a spouse’s plan) through what is called a “special enrollment period.”  Some of these options 
may cost less than COBRA continuation coverage. You can learn more about many of these 
options at www.healthcare.gov. 

Can I enroll in Medicare instead of COBRA continuation coverage after my group health plan 
coverage ends? 

In general, if you don’t enroll in Medicare Part A or B when you are first eligible because you are 
still employed, after the Medicare initial enrollment period, you have an 8-month special 
enrollment period1 to sign up for Medicare Part A or B, beginning on the earlier of 

• The month after your employment ends; or 
 

1 https://www.medicare.gov/sign-up-change-plans/how-do-i-get-parts-a-b/part-a-part-b-sign-up-periods.   

https://www.healthcare.gov/are-my-children-eligible-for-chip
https://www.dol.gov/ebsa/www.healthcare.gov
https://www.medicare.gov/sign-up-change-plans/how-do-i-get-parts-a-b/part-a-part-b-sign-up-periods
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• The month after group health plan coverage based on current employment ends. 

If you don’t enroll in Medicare and elect COBRA continuation coverage instead, you may have to 
pay a Part B late enrollment penalty and you may have a gap in coverage if you decide you want 
Part B later. If you elect COBRA continuation coverage and later enroll in Medicare Part A or B 
before the COBRA continuation coverage ends, the Plan may terminate your continuation 
coverage. However, if Medicare Part A or B is effective on or before the date of the COBRA 
election, COBRA coverage may not be discontinued on account of Medicare entitlement, even if 
you enroll in the other part of Medicare after the date of the election of COBRA coverage. 

If you are enrolled in both COBRA continuation coverage and Medicare, Medicare will generally 
pay first (primary payer) and COBRA continuation coverage will pay second. Certain plans may 
pay as if secondary to Medicare, even if you are not enrolled in Medicare. 

For more information visit https://www.medicare.gov/medicare-and-you. 

Maximum Period of COBRA Continuation Coverage 
The maximum period of COBRA continuation coverage is generally either 18 months or 36 
months, depending on which qualifying event occurred, measured from the time the qualifying 
event occurs. The 18-month period of COBRA continuation coverage may be extended for up to 
11 months under certain circumstances (described in another area of this section on extending 
COBRA in cases of disability). That period may also be cut short for the reasons set forth in the 
section “When COBRA Continuation Coverage May Be Cut Short” that appears later in this 
section. 

Who is entitled to COBRA continuation coverage (the qualified beneficiary), when (the qualifying 
event), and for how long is shown in the following chart: 

Qualifying Event Causing Health Care 
Coverage to End 

Duration of COBRA for Qualified Beneficiaries 

Employee 
Spouse or 
Domestic 
Partner 

Dependent 
Child(ren) 

Employee terminated (for other than 
gross misconduct). 18 months 18 months 18 months 

Employee reduction in hours worked 
(making Employee ineligible for the same 
coverage). 

18 months 18 months 18 months 

Employee or Retiree dies. N/A 36 months 36 months 

Employee or retiree becomes divorced. N/A 36 months 36 months 

Employee becomes entitled to Medicare. N/A 36 months 36 months 

https://www.medicare.gov/medicare-and-you
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When Cobra Continuation Coverage May be Cut Short 
The Plan may terminate continuation coverage earlier than the end of the maximum period for 
any of the following reasons:  

•  Premiums are not paid in full on a timely basis.  
•  The employer ceases to maintain any group health plan.  
•  A qualified beneficiary begins coverage under another group health plan after electing 

continuation coverage.  
•  A qualified beneficiary becomes entitled to Medicare benefits after electing 

continuation coverage; or  
•  A qualified beneficiary engages in fraud or other conduct that would justify terminating 

coverage of a similarly situated participant or beneficiary not receiving continuation 
coverage. 

If continuation coverage is terminated early, the plan must provide the qualified beneficiary with 
an early termination notice. If you decide to terminate your COBRA coverage early, you generally 
will not be able to enroll in a Marketplace plan outside of the open enrollment period.  

If you have questions 
Questions concerning your Plan, or your COBRA continuation coverage rights should be 
addressed to the contact or contacts identified below. For more information about your rights 
under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), including COBRA, the Patient 
Protection and Affordable Care Act, and other laws affecting group health plans, contact the 
nearest Regional or District Office of the U.S. Department of Labor’s Employee Benefits Security 
Administration (EBSA) in your area or visit www.dol.gov/ebsa.  (Addresses and phone numbers 
of Regional and District EBSA Offices are available through EBSA’s website.)  For more 
information about the Marketplace, visit www.HealthCare.gov. 

Qualifying Event Causing Health Care 
Coverage to End 

Duration of COBRA for Qualified Beneficiaries 

Employee 
Spouse or 
Domestic 
Partner 

Dependent 
Child(ren) 

Dependent child ceases to have 
dependent status. N/A N/A 36 months 

Retiree coverage is terminated or 
substantially eliminated within one year 
before or after PEBP files for bankruptcy 
reorganization under Chapter 11 of the 
federal Bankruptcy Act. 

Life 

Life plus 36 
months after 

death of 
retiree 

Life plus 36 months 
after death of 

retiree 

http://www.dol.gov/ebsa
http://www.healthcare.gov/
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Keep your Plan informed of address changes 
To protect your family’s rights, let the Plan Administrator know about any changes in the 
addresses of family members. You should also keep a copy, for your records, of any notices you 
send to the Plan Administrator. 
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Subrogation and Third-Party Recovery  
Subrogation applies to situations where the Participant is injured, and another person or entity 
is or may be responsible, liable, or contractually obligated, for whatever reason, for the payment 
of certain damages or claims arising from or related in any way to the Participant’s injury (the 
“Injury”). These damages or claims arising from the Injury, irrespective of the way they are 
categorized, may include, without limitation, medical expenses, pain and suffering, loss of 
consortium, and/or wrongful death. The Plan has a right of subrogation irrespective of whether 
the damages or claims are paid or payable to the Participant, the Participant’s estate, the 
Participant’s survivors, or the Participant’s attorney(s). All payments made by the Plan for which 
it claims a right of subrogation are referred to as Subrogated Payments.  

The subrogation provision provides the Plan with a right of recovery for certain payments made 
by the Plan, irrespective of fault, or negligence wrongdoing. Any and all payments made by the 
Plan relating in any way to the injury may be recovered directly from the other person or from 
any judgment, verdict or settlement obtained by the participant in relation to the injury.  

The Participant must cooperate fully, at all times, and provide all information needed or 
requested by the Plan to recover payments, execute any papers necessary for such recovery, and 
do whatever is necessary or requested in order to secure and protect the Subrogation rights of 
the Plan. The Participant’s required cooperation includes, but is not limited to, the following 
actions, which must be performed immediately, upon request by the Plan: 

(1)  Executing an acknowledgment form or other document acknowledging and 
agreeing to protect the Plan’s right of Subrogation. 

(2)  Cooperating and participating in the Plan’s recovery efforts, including but not 
limited to participating in litigation commenced or pursued by the Plan or its 
Board; and 

(3)  Filing a claim or demand with another insurance company, including but not 
limited to the Participant’s own first party insurance policy or another person’s or 
entity’s insurance policy. 

Refer to the separate Health and Welfare Benefits Wrap Plan document available at 
www.pebp.state.nv.us for more information regarding third party liability and subrogation. 

  

http://www.pebp.state.nv.us/
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Participant Contact Guide 

Participant Contact Guide 

Public Employees’ Benefits Program (PEBP) 
3427 Goni Road, Ste 109 
Carson City, NV  89706 

Customer Service:  
(775) 684-7000, (702) 486-3100, or (800) 
326-5496 
Fax: (775) 684-7028 
www.pebp.state.nv.us 

Plan Administrator 

• Enrollment and eligibility 
• COBRA information and premium 

payments 
• Level 2 claim appeals 
• External review coordination 

UMR 
Claims Submission 

P O Box 30541 
Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0541 
EDI #39026 

Appeal of Claims 
P O Box 30546 
Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0546 

Customer Service 
(888) 763-8232 
www.UMR.com 

Diabetes Care Management form submission 
UMR 
27 Corporate Hill Drive 
Little Rock, AR 77205 Fax: 800-458-0701 

Email: diabetes@HealthscopeBenefits.com  

Third-party Claims Administrator/Third-
party Administrator/PPO Network/ Disease 
Management Administrator  

• Claim submission 
• Claim status inquiries 
• Level 1 claim appeals 
• Verification of eligibility 
• Plan Benefit Information 
• CDHP & Dental only ID Cards 
• Obesity Care Management Program 
• Disease Care Management Program 
• Sierra Health-Care Options (SHO) – 

Southern Nevada PPO Network 
• UnitedHealthcare Choice Plus – Outside of 

Southern Nevada PPO Network 
• Behavioral Health-Care Options (BHO) – 

Behavioral Health Network in Nevada 
 

Sierra Health-Care Options, Inc 
PO BOX 15645 
Las Vegas, NV 89144-5648 

Customer Service : 888-323-1461 
Fax : 800-288-2264 

Utilization Management and Case 
Management Company  
• Pre-Certification/Prior Authorization 
• Utilization Management 
• Case Management 
• Transplants 

Express Scripts Pharmacy 
 
Customer Service  

Pharmacy Benefit Manager for the CDHP, LD 
PPO Plan, and  EPO Plan 
• Prescription drug information 
• Retail network pharmacies 

http://www.umr.com/
mailto:diabetes@HealthscopeBenefits.com
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Participant Contact Guide 

(855) 889-7708 
www.Express-Scripts.com 
 
Accredo Patient Customer Service: 
 (800) 803-2523 

Accredo Physician Service Line 
(800) 987-4904 option 5 
 
Express Scripts / Accredo Prior Authorization 
(800) 753-2851 
Electronic option: express-scripts.com/PA 
 
Specialty Medication SaveonSP copay 
assistance  
(800) 683-1074  
www.saveonsp.com/pebp 
 

• Prior authorization 
• Price a Medication tool 
• Home Delivery service and Mail Order 

forms 
• Preferred Mail Order for diabetic supplies 
• Accredo Specialty Drug Services  
• Coverage and Clinical reviews  
• Appeals  
• External Review Requests 
• Copay/Deductible/Coinsurance assistance 

HSA Bank  
HRA Claim Submission 
PO Box 2744  
Fargo, ND 58108-2744 

hsaforms@hsabank.com 
Fax: 855-764-5689 
www.hsabank.com 
Customer Service: 833-228-9364 
askus@hsabank.com 
myaccounts.hsabank.com 
 

HSA and HRA Claims Administrator 
• HSA/HRA Claims and claim appeals 

Diversified Dental Services 
5470 Kietzke Lane, Ste 300 
Reno, NV 89511 

ProviderRelations@ddsppo.com 
1-866-270-8326 
diversifieddental.com 

PPO Dental Network 

• Statewide PPO Dental Providers 
• Dental Provider directory  
• National PPO Dental Providers outside of 

Nevada utilizes the Principal Dental 
Network 

Health Plan of Nevada 
(702) 242-7300 or (877) 545-7378 
www.myhpnstateofnevada.com/  

Southern Nevada Health Maintenance 
Organization (HMO) 

• Medical claims/provider network 

https://www.express-scripts.com/index.html
http://www.saveonsp.com/pebp
mailto:hsaforms@hsabank.com
mailto:askus@hsabank.com
mailto:ProviderRelations@ddsppo.com
https://linkprotect.cudasvc.com/url?a=https%3a%2f%2fdiversifieddental.com&c=E,1,9IwZIVTjZHvA2kJuhm1Gv3ABcv0DZ1U5oamspEe2pQy85lEoN49dqvipPRrIxHPkCH4gQ7ycRhW5_qBl9-HoA7fC-ehnmAn5f60_WvsWhaapwFV2oUqzSbX6c54,&typo=1&ancr_add=1
http://www.myhpnstateofnevada.com/
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Participant Contact Guide 

VIA Benefits 
10975 Sterling View Drive, Suite A1 
South Jordan, UT 84095 

(888)598-7545 
https://my.viabenefits.com/pebp  
Phone: (888) 598-7545; Fax: (402) 231-4310 

Medicare Exchange and Medicare HRA 
administrator 

• Medigap (Supplemental) plans 
• Medicare Advantage Plans (HMO and 

PPO) 
• Voluntary Vision 
• Voluntary Dental 
• HRA claims administrator 

United Healthcare Specialty Benefits  
Group Number: 370074 
Customer Service: 1-888-763-8232 
UnitedHealthcare Specialty Benefits 

P.O. Box 7149 
Portland, ME 04112-7149 

• Basic Life Insurance for eligible active and 
retirees 

• Member Assistance Program 
• Global Travel Assistance 

Office for Consumer Health Assistance 
3320 W. Sahara Ave, Suite 100 
Las Vegas, NV  89102 

Customer Service:  
(702) 486-3587 or (888) 333-1597 
https://adsd.nv.gov/Programs/CHA/Office_fo
r_Consumer_Health_Assistance_(OCHA)/  

Consumer Health Assistance 
• Concerns and problems related to 

coverage 
• Provider billing issues 
• External review information 

Corestream  
PEBP+ Customer Care: (775) 249-0716  
E-mail: pebpcustomercare@corestream.com  
www.corestream.com 

   
Voluntary Life, Critical Illness, Accident, and 
Hospital Indemnity Insurance  

The Standard Insurance Company 
(888) 288-1270 
www.standard.com/mybenefits/nevada 

General Customer Service for Supplemental 
Products: (866) 851-2429 

PEBP+ Voluntary Benefits Administrator 
• Accident Insurance 
• Auto Insurance 
• Critical Illness 
• Disability Insurance (Long-term and Short-

term) 
• Home Insurance 
• Hospital Indemnity 
• Identity Theft 
• Legal Services 
• Life Insurance (Supplemental) 
• Pet Insurance 
• Vision Care 

  

https://my.viabenefits.com/pebp
https://adsd.nv.gov/Programs/CHA/Office_for_Consumer_Health_Assistance_(OCHA)/
https://adsd.nv.gov/Programs/CHA/Office_for_Consumer_Health_Assistance_(OCHA)/
mailto:pebpcustomercare@corestream.com
https://linkprotect.cudasvc.com/url?a=https%3a%2f%2fwww.corestream.com&c=E,1,3lreCgID6G_gG5VH4L3KzqZ8mCP8LVVYahFqvXh4Bcg-iKUPUue4bfhwmZwFDlaef9qGMu3tUm7NSo6v4RUtAfWQy3YKhfw7vVMtxPuliNEuWBDisU4,&typo=1&ancr_add=1
http://www.standard.com/mybenefits/nevada
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Key Terms and Definitions 
The following terms or phrases are used throughout the MPD. These terms or phrases have the 
following meanings. These definitions do not, and should not be interpreted to, extend coverage 
under the Plan. 

Base Plan:  The Self-Funded Consumer Driven Health Plan (CDHP). The base Plan is also defined 
as the “default Plan” where applicable in this document and other communication materials 
produced by PEBP. 

Business Day: Refers to all weekdays, except Saturday or Sunday, or a State or Federal holiday. 

Child(ren):  See the definition of dependent child(ren). 

Claims Administrator:  The person or company retained by the Plan to administer claim payment 
responsibilities and other administration or accounting services as specified by the Plan. 

COBRA: means the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985, as amended. 

Complete Notification: means a completed event when the member submits a request for 
changes. To complete an event/notification the required supporting documentation must be 
provided to PEBP within the specified timeframe.  

o Failure to provide the required documentation within the specified timeframe will 
result in an incomplete event/notification that will void the change request. 

Coordination of Benefits (COB):  The rules and procedures applicable to the determination of 
how plan benefits are payable when a person is covered by two or more health care plans. (See 
also the Coordination of Benefits section of the Consumer Driven Health Plan, Low Deductible 
PPO Plan,  EPO Plan  Master Plan Documents, or the HMO or  EPO Plan Evidence of Coverage 
Certificate). 

Coverage Tier: the category of rates and premiums or contributions for coverage that correspond 
to: 

• An eligible participant only.  
• An eligible participant and eligible spouse. 
• An eligible participant and eligible dependent child(ren).  
• An eligible participant, their eligible spouse, and their eligible child(ren). 
• An eligible participant and eligible domestic partner. 
• An eligible participant and eligible domestic partner’s child(ren); or 
• An eligible participant, their eligible domestic partner, and their eligible child(ren). 

 
Covered Individual: Any employee or retiree (as those terms are defined in this Plan), and that 
person’s eligible spouse/domestic partner or dependent child who has completed all required 
formalities for enrollment for coverage under the Plan and is covered by the Plan. 
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Dependent: Any of the following individuals: dependent child(ren), spouse or domestic partner 
as those terms are defined in this document.  
 
Dependent Child(ren):  For the purposes of this Plan, a dependent child is any of your children 
under the age of 26 years, including: 

• natural child,  
• child(ren) of a domestic partner,  
• stepchild, 
• legally adopted child or child placed in anticipation for adoption (the term placed 

for adoption means the assumption and retention by the employee of a legal 
obligation for total or partial support of the child in anticipation of adoption of the 
child and the child must be available for adoption and the legal adoption process 
must have commenced), 

• child who qualifies for benefits under a QMCSO/NMSN (see the Eligibility section 
for details on QMCSO/NMSN), 

• any other person who: 
(1) Bears a relationship described in 26 U.S.C. § 152(c)(2) to the participant or his 

or her spouse or domestic partner. 
(2) Is unmarried. 
(3) Has not attained the age set forth in 45 C.F.R. § 147.120(a). 
(4) Either resides with the participant or is enrolled in a program of secondary 

education or an independently accredited program of postsecondary 
education, including, without limitation, a college, university, community or 
junior college, graduate school or accredited trade or business school, on a 
full-time basis 

(5) Satisfies one of the following conditions:  
a. Is currently under a permanent legal guardianship of the participant or his 

or her spouse or domestic partner pursuant to chapter 159 of NRS; or 
b. Was eligible to be claimed as a dependent on the federal income tax return 

of the participant or his or her spouse or domestic partner for the 
immediately preceding calendar year; and 

(6) Is in a relationship with the participant or his or her spouse or domestic partner 
that is like a child-parent relationship. The participant or his or her spouse or 
domestic partner must complete and submit to the Program an affidavit attesting 
to the fact of the relationship. 

Dependent Coverage Ends: Coverage of a dependent child ends at the end of the month: 

• The child reaches his or her 26th birthday. 
• The active employee or retiree coverage ends. 
• The spouse, domestic partner, or dependent child(ren) no longer meets the 

definition of spouse, domestic partner, or dependent child(ren) as provided in the 
Definitions section of this document. 

• Premium payment was last received (see Termination for Non-Payment); 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-159.html#NRS159
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• The plan is discontinued  
 
Disability: A determination by the Plan Administrator or its designee (after evaluation by a 
Physician) that a person has a permanent or continuing physical or mental impairment causing 
the person to be unable to be self-sufficient as the result of having the physical or mental 
impairment such as mental retardation, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, neurological disorder, or 
psychosis. 

Domestic Partner/Domestic Partnership: As defined by NRS 122A.030. The Plan will require the 
participant to provide a copy of the domestic partner certification from the Nevada Secretary of 
State. Participants who have a legal union or domestic partnership validly formed in another 
jurisdiction which is substantially equivalent to a domestic partnership in Nevada, are not 
required to file with, or provide a certification from the Nevada Secretary of State. The participant 
must also provide a statement acknowledging the participant’s responsibility for any federal 
income tax consequences resulting from the enrollment of the domestic partner in the Plan. A 
domestic partner is not eligible for coverage as a dependent after termination of the domestic 
partnership. 

Eligible Dependent: Your spouse/domestic partner and your dependent child(ren). An eligible 
dependent may be enrolled for coverage under the Plan by following the procedures required by 
the Plan.  

Employee: Unless specifically indicated otherwise when used in this document, employee refers 
to a person employed by an agency or entity that participates in the PEBP program, and who is 
eligible to enroll for coverage under this Plan. 

Employer: Unless specifically indicated otherwise when used in this document, employer refers 
to an agency or entity that participates in the PEBP program, including (but not limited to) most 
State agencies, as well as some county and city agencies and organizations.  

Employer Group Health Plan: Any employer who sponsors a health plan for their active 
employees. 

Enroll, Enrollment: The process of completing enrollment, either by use of the e-PEBP online 
enrollment tool or submitting a written form indicating that coverage by the Plan is requested by 
the employee or retiree. An employee or retiree may request coverage for an eligible dependent 
only if he or she is or will be covered by the Plan.  

Family Unit: The covered employee or retiree and the family members who are covered as 
dependents under the covered employee’s or retiree’s plan. 

Full-Time Employment: Employees working 80 hours a month (NAC 287.150) or an average of at 
least 130 hours per month as defined by the IRS (“Identifying Full-time Employees”).  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-122A.html#NRS122ASec030
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Employer Group Health Plan; Group Health Insurance: Group health insurance is any group 
health policy which contains provisions for the payment by the insurer of benefits for expenses 
incurred on account of hospital, nursing, medical, dental or surgical services, home health care 
or health supportive services for members of the family or dependents of a person in the insured 
group may provide for the continuation of such benefit provisions, or any part or parts thereof, 
after the death of the person in the insured group. Group health insurance is declared to be that 
form of health insurance covering groups of two or more persons, formed for a purpose other 
than obtaining insurance (NRS 689B.020).  

Health Reimbursement Arrangement:  A Health Reimbursement Arrangement (HRA) is an 
employee-funded spending account that can be used to pay qualified medical expenses. The HRA 
is 100% funded by the employer. The terms of these arrangements can provide first dollar 
medical coverage until the funds are exhausted or insurance coverage kicks in. The contribution 
amount per employee is set by the employer, and the employer determines what the funds can 
be used to cover and if the dollars can be rolled over to the next year. In most cases, if the 
employee leaves the employer, they cannot take remaining HRA funds with them. 

Health Care Provider: A health care practitioner, hospital, ambulatory surgical facility, behavioral 
health treatment facility, birthing center, home health care agency, hospice, skilled nursing 
facility, or sub-acute care facility.  

Health Savings Account:  An account that allows qualified employees to pay for current health 
expenses and save for future qualified medical and Retiree health expenses on a tax-free basis. 

HIPAA:  Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996. Federal regulation affecting 
portability of coverage; electronic transmission of claims and other health information; privacy 
and confidentiality protections of health information. 

HIPAA Special Enrollment: Enrollment rights for certain employees and dependents who 
experience a loss of other employer group coverage and when there is an adoption, placement 
for adoption, birth, marriage, or a domestic partnership certification from the office of the 
Nevada Secretary of State or a domestic partnership validly formed in another jurisdiction which 
is substantially equivalent in Nevada. 

Ineligible Dependents: Individuals who are not eligible as defined above are not eligible 
dependents under this Plan.  

Medicare: The health insurance for the aged and disabled provisions in Title XVIII of the U.S. 
Social Security Act as it is now amended and as it may be amended in the future. 

Medicare Part A: Hospital insurance provided by the federal government that helps cover 
inpatient care in hospitals, skilled nursing facility, hospice, and home health care. 
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Medicare Part B: Medical insurance provided by the federal government that helps pay for 
medically necessary services like doctors' services, outpatient care, durable medical equipment, 
home health services, and other medical services. 

Medicare Part D:  Prescription drug coverage subsidized by the federal government but is offered 
only by private companies contracted with Medicare such as HMOs and PPOs. 

Mini-med or other limited benefit plan: Mini-med health plans or other limited benefit plans 
feature limited benefits. There is a maximum amount that the plan will pay. Once that limit is hit, 
remaining medical expenses have to be covered “out-of-pocket” by the enrollee. 

National Medical Support Notice (NMSN)/Qualified Medical Child Support Order (QMCSO): A 
court order that complies with requirements of federal law requiring an employee to provide 
health care coverage for a dependent child and requiring that benefits payable on account of 
that dependent child be paid directly to the health care provider who rendered the services. 

Notification: When a member initiates a change to their benefits with PEBP (Open Enrollment, 
Qualifying Life Event, or HIPAA Special Enrollment) through their online PEBP account.  The date 
a notification is received may control the effective date of benefit changes.  A notification may 
be subject to requirements for supporting documentation (see the definition of “completed 
notification” for more information).  

Open Enrollment Period: The period during which participants in the Plan may select among the 
alternate health benefit programs that are offered by the Plan or eligible individuals not currently 
enrolled in the Plan may enroll for coverage. The Plan’s open enrollment period is described in 
the Eligibility section of this document. 

Over age Child with a Disability or Disabled Dependent Child over the age of 26 years:  As 
determined by the Plan Administrator or its designee, is an unmarried child who has reached his 
or her 26th birthday who, as evaluated by a physician, has a permanent or continuing mental or 
physical impairment and is incapable of self-sustaining employment or self-sufficiency as a result 
of having that impairment; depending chiefly on the participant or the participant’s 
spouse/domestic partner for support and maintenance and whom the participant claims as a 
dependent on IRS tax forms under the IRS Code 152(1) (without regard to the gross income test).  
This Plan will require proof of having a disability at reasonable intervals during the two years 
following the date the dependent reaches the limiting age of 26 years and after this two-year 
period the Plan Administrator may require proof not more than once each year. The Plan 
Administrator reserves the right to have the dependent examined by a physician of the Plan 
Administrator’s choice (and at the Plan’s expense) to determine that the dependent meets the 
definition of a disabled dependent child over the age of 26 years. Children covered under legal 
guardianship are not included in this definition. 

Placed for Adoption: For the definition of placed for adoption as it relates to coverage of adopted 
dependent children, see the definition in the section on adopted dependent children in the 
Eligibility section. 
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Plan, The Plan, This Plan: In most cases, the programs, benefits, and provisions described in this 
document as provided by the Public Employees’ Benefits Program (PEBP). 

Plan Administrator: The person or legal entity designated by the Plan as the party who has the 
fiduciary responsibility for the overall administration of the Plan. 

Plan Participant: The employee or retiree or their enrolled spouse/domestic partner or 
dependent child(ren) or a surviving spouse/domestic partner of a retiree. 

Plan Year: Typically, the 12-month period from July 1 through June 30. PEBP has the authority to 
revise the Plan Year if necessary. PEBP has the authority to revise the benefits and rates, if 
necessary, each Plan Year. For medical, dental, vision and pharmacy benefits, all Deductibles, 
Out-of-Pocket Maximums and Plan Year maximum benefits are determined based on the Plan 
Year. 

Positive Open Enrollment: This process requires that each participant affirmatively make their 
benefit elections during the PEBP open enrollment period. Even if they do not want to make any 
coverage changes, they must affirmatively make their elections, or they will be defaulted to self-
coverage only under the PEBP Base Plan.  

Program: Means the Public Employees’ Benefits Program established in accordance with NRS 
287.0402 to 287.049, inclusive. 

Provider:  See the definition of Health Care Provider. 

Qualified Medical Child Support Order (QMCSO)/National Medical Support Notice (NMSN): A 
court order that complies with requirements of federal law requiring an employee to provide 
health care coverage for a dependent child and requiring that benefits payable on account of 
that dependent child be paid directly to the health care provider who rendered the services. 

Rescission:  A cancellation or discontinuance of coverage that has a retroactive effect. A 
cancellation or discontinuance is not a rescission if the cancellation or discontinuance of coverage 
has only a prospective effect, or the cancellation or discontinuance of coverage is effective 
retroactively, to the extent it is attributable to a failure to timely pay premium or costs of 
coverage. 

Retiree: Unless specifically indicated otherwise, when used in this document, retiree refers to a 
person formerly employed by an agency or entity that may or may not participate in the PEBP 
program and who is eligible to enroll for coverage under this Plan. 

Significantly Inferior Coverage: A “mini med” or other limited benefit plan; or a catastrophic 
coverage plan with a Deductible equal to or greater than $5,000 with no employer contributions 
to Health Savings Accounts or Health Reimbursement Arrangements or any other coverage. PEBP 
will determine if an employer sponsored group health plan meets the definition of significantly 
inferior coverage. 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-287.html#NRS287Sec0402
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-287.html#NRS287Sec0402
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-287.html#NRS287Sec049
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Spouse:  The employee’s or retiree’s lawful spouse (opposite sex or same sex) as determined by 
the laws of the State of Nevada. The Plan will require proof of the legal marital relationship. The 
former spouse of an employee or retiree is not an eligible spouse under this Plan. 

State: When capitalized in this document, the term State means the State of Nevada. 

Tier of Coverage: The category of rates and premiums or contributions for coverage that 
correspond to either an eligible participant only, or an eligible participant and one or more 
eligible dependents. 

Unsubsidized Dependent of a Retiree: An unsubsidized dependent is defined as the eligible 
spouse/domestic partner and/or eligible dependent(s) of a retiree who remains covered under 
the Consumer Driven Health Plan (CDHP), Low Deductible PPO (LD PPO), HMO Plan or  EPO Plan 
while the primary participant transitions coverage to the Medicare Exchange.  

You, Your: When used in this document, these words refer to the employee or retiree who is 
covered by the Plan. They do not refer to any dependent of the employee or retiree. 
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